AVG & Slow Startup

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by zyx345, Jan 10, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zyx345

    zyx345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I had been experiencing slow startups w. NAV 2002. I then deleted as Symantec instructed me to do. Instead of reinstalling Norton I decided to use AVG.

    Now I am experiencing the same problem. My computer boots as normal but I can't access any apps for a few minutes until AVG loads in the system tray.

    Any suggestions? Any fixes known? o_O
     
  2. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    If you have had the problem with BOTH Norton AV and AVG it sounds as if the problem is not specifically with AVG.

    There could be a number of possibilities;if you have ruled out viruses or spyware, you could check the number of running programs on start-up and decide which ones you really need to run.

    If you have Win 98, you can check the start-up programs using MSCONFIG - start>run- type in Msconfig. Here you can see the number of programs actually running on startup and deselect some of these if there seems to be an excessive amount.

    Or you can use a specific startup program manager to do a similar job;

    http://www.webattack.com/Freeware/system/fwstartup.shtml
    http://www.mlin.net/StartupCPL.shtml

    If this does not help, try doing a disc check followed by a defrag or you could try some of the suggestions here; http://www.tweak3d.net/tweak/winstartupnew/

    If using Win2000/XP, disabling redundant services may help;
    http://www.blackviper.com/index.html or try using BootVis; http://www.majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=664

    AVG is generally considered a very 'light' AV so it is unlikely to be a resource problem. If you cannot find the answer, the last resort would be a 'fresh' install which always appears to speed up Windows.
     
  3. zyx345

    zyx345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Thanks Blackcat. I'm running Windows XP Home. The reason I thought NAV or AVG was causing the boot problem was that when I deleted NAV & installed AVG the startup time decreased.

    I should note that this all started when I was hit with what my computer's tech support identified as the MS Blaster worm. (my computer kept restaring evey 60sec.)

    The Microsoft & Symantec fixes didn't work so I had to boot in Safe Mode, do a system resore, then run all of my antivirus & spyware utilities.

    I have run every utility & antivirus scan that I could it seems that my system is clean.
     
  4. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    Just a thought; how many apps are on your startup list?
     
  5. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    I am surprised that the Microsoft;

    http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=833330

    or Symantec removal tools;

    http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.blaster.worm.removal.tool.html

    did not work.Did you switch off system restore before using these?

    I would double check your system is clean with some other free AV scanners;

    1. Try some here; - http://www.wilders.org/free_services.htm

    2. McAfee's Stinger;- http://vil.nai.com/vil/stinger/

    I presume now that you have downloaded and installed the Microsoft Critical Update for this threat and you are running some sort of firewall?

    If so and as mentioned in my previous post, once you are virus and spyware free, try some of the other suggestions e.g. reducing your number of startup programs, disabling redundant services in XP and trying BootVis.
     
  6. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    Oh yeah, Blackcat already said to check number of startup apps :rolleyes:
    Sorry about that!
     
  7. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I was running nav 2002 and my xp machine did the same thing. My desktop came up pretty quick but it took at least two to three minutes for the items in the task bar would load so the comp was accessable. Well after a lot of research I found that this a problem that happens almost exclusively to xp machines. What is happening is the norton mail proxy is deleting your comps ip address and the comp is searching for an ip number after a few minutes it will just boot by default.This is most prevelant if you are useing broadband but it will affect dialup also.You can usually contact your internet provider and depending on their level of support they can lead you through the steps to reassign you comp an ip in just a few minutes.
     
  8. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    The reason I mention this problem is because you had norton installed at the time. And it will surelly cause some big problems on some xp machines.I fought this problem for about a month before I found out what causes it.
     
  9. zyx345

    zyx345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I have 13 apps at startup. 8 apps from XP & the remaining 5 are my apps, firewall, palm pilot,....
     
  10. Mullyman

    Mullyman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Posts:
    54
    Location:
    Canada
    :cool: This might help your problem....January 7 one of the updates for Norton AV definitions had a problem...and it caused your computer to become sluggish and to have a hard time opening and operating certain programs...the site below will give you a fix for this...if you have a problem getting into the site here is a quick fix...Open Internet Explorer
    and click on the Tools menu and click on Internet Options.
    From there, go to the Advanced tab and scroll down to
    the Security section and remove the check from the box
    that says "Check for publisher's certification revocation...this should remedy the problem. :D

    http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/sharedtech.nsf/docid/2004010810205113
     
  11. zyx345

    zyx345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Thanks!! This has been working so far. This is a newbie question but:

    Is there any security risk in unchecking the "check for publisher's certificate revocation" tab under the advanced settings in IE Explorer?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.