AVG is now on virustotal.com

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by TAP, Jan 16, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TAP

    TAP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Posts:
    344

    Attached Files:

  2. KERANO

    KERANO Guest

    McAfee missing there!

    Also Sophos and F-secure!
     
  3. jlo

    jlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Kerano,

    Yes F-secure is missing but they do heavily rely on the KAV engine. If KAV detects then so will F-secure.

    Mcafee is there in secret!! It is included in Sybari scan engine. (I e mailed them!)

    Cheers

    Jlo
     
  4. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    TAPP and other fellow creatures,

    what is totalvirus.com? :doubt: is it just virus news site.
     
  5. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Did you have a look at that site?
    Cheers,

    Gerard
     
  6. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    Yes, it appears to be as I stated I could not find an "ABOUT US" maybe I missed it. Sorry to sound so ignorant or lazy, I have bookmarked for future investigation. There are so many of these. And BigC specifically pointed to one site he was not comfortable with. "Top Ten of Everything" or something like that, which was giving advice. One needs to be careful, that is why I asked my question of those many here that I trust before I just except as fact what is posted. No offense intend to my friend TAPP either, as he could provide answer as well. Just me I guess. :)

    Edit: Ah yes, I see what it is more about now that I have looked a little deeper; sorry for the confusion. :oops: Interesting and very useful for the war against nasties. ;)
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2005
  7. KERANO

    KERANO Guest

    Hi jlo,

    F-secure have and their own engines... also it make diferent scores than KAV in all testings...


    Pc-cillin, Titan AV, TDS3 and Sophos should be there too :)
     
  8. jlo

    jlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    UK
    Well yes you are sort of correct.

    They do use KAV engine so anything that is detected by KAV is detected by F-secure.

    They also use Libra,orion engine. They used to use F-prot engine but changed to Libra (which is very similar) and also use Orion. This is for when they receive a virus sample that they want to add very quickly and don't want to wait for KAV defs. They will add it to there own engine.

    Normal cases they usually add to KAV. F-secure is an excellent product. They don't update there defs as often as KAV but its still very good.

    Cheers

    Jlo
     
  9. TAP

    TAP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Posts:
    344
    Hey, you can upload suspicious files to an online multi-scanner to see what some scanners say about that suspicious file.

    This is another online multi-scanner, Jotti's malware scan. :)

    http://virusscan.jotti.dhs.org/
     

    Attached Files:

  10. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    TAPP,
    Yes, as I said in my edit part. After a longer look I understood a little better, but thanks for your clarification too. Perhaps in the future I will put my brain and eyes in gear before I put my typing figures in gear. LOL :D
     
  11. JayTee

    JayTee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Posts:
    166
    jlo,

    but f-secure is freakin' expensive. the most expensive personal av I've seen so far.
     
  12. jlo

    jlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    UK
    hi JayTee,

    You think F-secure is expensive? From there website including tax the cost is £25.95 Stirling. I just payed £27.03 stirling for Nod32 so no I don't think F-secure (Antivirus) is expensive.

    Cheers

    Jlo
     
  13. Ianb

    Ianb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Posts:
    232
    Location:
    UK
    I can't see how that can be McAfee. From the Sybari website it appears to have a multi scan engine ....

    Multiple scan engine management for comprehensive virus detection. Integrates leading third-party scan engines from Norman Data Defense, Sophos, Computer Associates, VirusBusters, Authentium, and Kaspersky Labs.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.