AVG doesn't do anything to the viruses it finds

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JXC, Sep 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JXC

    JXC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    It finds dozen of Trojans et cetera. It does nothing to them. It is a fresh install, set to Automatically Heal. It ran for 45 minutes and did nothing to the files it found.

    It says it found a Trojan Horse Downloader, but it just leaves it there untouched.

    What is happening?
     
  2. JXC

    JXC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    So now I have it set to pop up a dialog every time it encounters something, but half the time Heal is not an option and when i try to move the object to the Vault it says it cannot open it.
     
  3. dog

    dog Guest

    Try running a scan in "Safe Mode" <-Read link for instructions on how to boot into Safe Mode :)
     
  4. JXC

    JXC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    Will try that. Thanks, Dog!
     
  5. JXC

    JXC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    That did not work. 75 minutes to scan my disk and all AVG did was find viruses, but not clean them.
     
  6. JXC

    JXC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    Help would be appreciated, as always.

    FWIF, this started with MIRAR this morning.

    Now the symptom is a pop up browser every three minutes or so.

    Regards, all.

    John
     
  7. kr4ey

    kr4ey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Florida USA
    If you can't get AVG to work for you, and you have viruses I would be trying something else.
    Avira AntiVir free is very good, and it uses the same AV signatues as the premium edition.
     
  8. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
  9. divedog

    divedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    265
    Location:
    Seabeck WA
    Where does AVG say they are located? If they are in system restore just reset it. If they are in temp Internet clear it out. Half the battle is detection and where the file is located.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.