AVG Antivirus from Avast Beta / Final Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Mops21, Dec 9, 2016.

  1. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
  2. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,003
    The free version doesn't require registration anymore.

    Avast Antivirus: Registering Avast Free Antivirus
    https://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB9
    ;)
     
  3. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,848
    Location:
    Slovakia
    The latest beta still does and after registering, it says, it is valid for a year, until 2018. If you do not register it, it says, it is valid for 30 days.
     
  4. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    Belgium
    Avg may use many services, but it is realy light, all together about 30 meg ?!
     
  5. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,767
    Location:
    Germany

    Click on the Link and see the first Post and you will find them

    With best Regards
    Mops21
     
  6. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,649
    Not any time I have tried it. Since the protections is essentially the exact same, I much prefer Avast to AVG.
     
  7. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    Belgium
    +1
    I also prefer avast :)
     
  8. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    701
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Hmmmm...I got 47.7 here. Doesn't seem to run heavy, but it's more than 30 for sure.

    https://s24.postimg.org/wgbdggup1/Capture.png
     
  9. fmon

    fmon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,155
    That's only a problem if your computer has 32 MB RAM, I hope it has more. :thumb:
     
  10. true indian

    true indian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    880
    Location:
    india
    Avast is a little problematic for me on some systems.I would prefer AVG instead.
     
  11. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    701
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Yup, me as well. Tried Avast and AVG over the last few days on numerous systems in the house here and AVG was smooth as butter. Avast, not so much. AVG is actually pretty light and runs much better than it used to. I'm liking it.
     
  12. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,941
    AVG updated last night and I saw that it was a big file . Then it required a restart . After that I saw also that it installed ransomware protection module . It runs fine till now
     
  13. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,058
    Yes, the Antiransomware protection has been added with AVG 17.5.3017 beta
    Some more information about the new module:
     
  14. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,767
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi all

    AVG Antivirus 17.5.3021

    No Changelog available i will post this when IT is online

    With best Regards
    Mops21
     
  15. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,003
  16. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    I am trying the new beta IS on my Enterprise VM. So far is has been doing very good. ;)
     
  17. true indian

    true indian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    880
    Location:
    india
    I think if i custom install avast it would work better.I hate all the tuneup and the other crap that we can't use in the free anyway being given to us.Waste of space honestly. :sick:
     
  18. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    701
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Yup, after the update, it gives you a chance to try it out for 30 days or just go back to basic protection if you are using the free version. That's what I did. For ransomware protection I am using the free Bitdefender Anti-Ransomware alongside AVG Free. The two seem to run well together without issue so far.

    Edit: Too many pop ups from AVG. Decided to go back to just Bitdefender Free. From what I've read, apparently all Bitdefener's have Anti-Ransomware built-in. I'm hoping that is the case, but I can't confirm for sure. Nothing out there says so for sure that I can find. Just got tired of all the AVG pop ups.
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2017
  19. fmon

    fmon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,155
    Do you mean ad pop ups?
     
  20. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    701
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Yup. I know they are trying to sell their full version, but it gets annoying.
     
  21. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,023
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    They even annoyingly push PC TuneUp on their Internet Security customers....
     
  22. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,767
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi all

    https://plus.google.com/communities/113703068704687478265

    With best Regards
    Mops21
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 1, 2017
  23. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    I have been using the internet suite beta for a while in my VM and ran some nasty malware against it and it did pretty good.
     
  24. fmon

    fmon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,155
    Free Ransomware Protection for AVG would be great! :thumb:
     
  25. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    Belgium
    Forget it, will only be available in paid version , same as avast premier and IS.
     
Loading...