AVG 8

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ankupan, Feb 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    Avg8 is not nearly as fast as Nod on my Vista System, no way......! Avg 7.5 was/is!
     
  2. Juggernaut

    Juggernaut Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Posts:
    60
    It's really interesting to see some of the problems here and then notice that I'm not having the same ones on my computer. I run every POS software you can imagine and I'm not having any of these conflicts, cookie issues etc..

    I had some problems initially but those have since been fixed in the recent updates. As of this time, AVG 8 w/Firewall is running very smooth for me.

    I have not had my passwords in the form of cookies wiped out anymore since the last few build updates. I did at first but not anymore. And I have not checked or altered the program in any way to make the cookies perform the way I want them to beyond whatever the stock program setting are when it was installed.

    I'm not a fanboy of any software but they seem to be working hard to get it up and running and to be honest, with all of the comments about them releasing beta ware to the public in retail form, just about all of the software makers these days do that. The are a bazillion computer configurations out there and all software will have issues with some of them. That's the name of the game.

    The only thing noticeable for me at this time is the link scanner makes some web pages load slower. But of course it does though. AVG 7.5 did not do link scanning so that's a giving. I can live with a tiny slowdown for a little extra security.

    All of the software on this forum that are discussed daily have each their own liabilities. If they didn't, We wouldn't even be taking the time to discuss them. I have tried a good many of them. Some are fast, others slow. Some are better at detection, and other have better friendlier interphases. They all have pluses and minuses. I'll be sticking with AVG 8 and give them a chance. They have been good over the years and appear to see there are problems and are trying to fix them.

    If you really want to trash a company or need a reminder of what really bad is...

    ...Diamond CS

    Great Programs with potential but lacking in communication and eventually just blowing off every paying customer and riding into the sunset. Kinda makes AVG 8 and all of the other around here seem pretty nice right now.

    It's like driving a Ford, Chevy, or Dodge truck. Everyone here is going to have a preference. Pick the truck(software) that suits you and get on the road and drive. Road Rage not allowed.
     
  3. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    Just like to know what OS you are running, as Vista gives most troubles with the new Avg8. As you are not having any issues, maybe because you're running XP?
     
  4. Juggernaut

    Juggernaut Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Posts:
    60
    I'm running Vista Home Premium 32bit with Service Pack 1 installed.

    AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 5600+ 2.80GHz

    4GB RAM
     
  5. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    Lucky you, if you only notice a slight slowdown!
     
  6. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,064
    i noticed a faster system using AVG 8 beta than running my current setup.
    if you run the "my computer scan" does it scan for rootkit? or do you have to click on rootkit on the interface and run a seprate rootkitscan?
    havent tryed the final now that most of bugs have been fixed thou.
    if avg 8 does not work on your system yet use 7.5 it will provide decent protection just look at av comparitives. im sure the rest of the bugs will be ironed out soon.
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2008
  7. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,676
    avg 7.5 is really fast like nod32 2.7?

    i have never tried it
     
  8. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    Nod32 2.7 is pretty hard to beat, but just try and see for yourself. I never had any speedproblems with 7.5.
     
  9. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    It you do a minimal install of 8.0 (no mail scanner or web scanner) it will run fast.

    If you have a notebook computer make sure all of of your power management features are working as AVG 8 clobbered the ability of my Vaio to cut and restore power to the optical drive in both XP and Vista.
     
  10. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    Why even bother installing such an AV scanner, if leaving out these modules? There are other products, that operate without these options. I strongly believe, that when AV scanners offer a complete package, they should also perform 100% with this package.......if not, I won't be using that product!
     
  11. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    Well, I obviously do not agree, and furthermore I find all the complaining around here about how this or that feature does not work exactly right to be excessive.

    Actually, I never install the mail scanner for any AV as I do not have a mail client on my machine. Nearly every time the subject of web scanning comes up there is someone who asks if the web scanner can be disabled, for whatever reason. As far as AVG safe search goes, I consider it to be total nonsense even if it is working perfectly, so I won't have it.

    All you perfectionists out there may as well throw out your computers because there are lots of features in Windows that do not work exactly right, especially in Vista, and to a lesser extent in XP.

    Besides, how can anyone with an Avatar for AV company X make fair statements about AV company Y. If you want to be a fan of something, try professional sports, but Av's, you got to be kidding.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2008
  12. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    Got nothing to do with being perfect........just trying to be as secure as possible with all options offered by any AV product.
     
  13. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,448
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    Generally I don't jump in the middle of something but I could not resist this time. :oops: .

    Both Diver and Big Apple have valid points on this. I personally would not avoid a product if I could turn off problem "modules" (minimal install) however it shows that a product was either rushed out before it was ready or little thought was given to the fact that the masses need load and go security software, not load and let me see which part I should activate or load and then hmmmm why is this happening or giving me problems. My system did not suffer this way until I loaded XYZ AV. :mad:

    Stuff should work out of the box with all options loaded unless specifically warned about something during install and then give options. Hell even that is not good! Stuff should work and work right from such reputable company as AVG.

    ;) Just my opinion.
     
  14. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,631
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Yeah, it "should"..
    The only option would be not to install the program. If you read EULA carefully, they (makers) don't guarantee anything about neither a smooth functioning of your system after installation nor the new software will be free of errors :shifty:
     
  15. cdr

    cdr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Posts:
    143
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC USA
    Well, here's a follow-up to my previous post! Firefox is still "crashing," even with this very latest update (8.0.93). Is anyone else experiencing this? o_O
    Using XP Home Edition SP2.
     
  16. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,064
    the standard set is features called the reccomended set should work fine.
    if you brought a car and they said the brakes dont work but once we have got them working we will phone you to bring it in to fix them you wouldnt buy the car would you?
    but its acceptable for programmers to ship out half baked software and fix it later. windows being the best example.
     
  17. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    if firefox is still crashing you need to send a diagnostic report to avg
    they cannot fix what they do not know.

    robin
     
  18. cdr

    cdr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Posts:
    143
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC USA
    Hi, robinb!
    Is there a special utility in the AVG program to send this "diagnostic report?" If so, how do I go about it? Or, do you mean just to file a technical support request with them? Thanks for your help!:)
     
  19. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I'm still using AVG AS and if It isn't set for real time scanning the sys tray icon goes gray. AVG 8 might have the same configuration so I would check your main page.
     
  20. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,213
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    The AVG diagnostics utility collects some information about your system configuration (no personal details) and your AVG information and sends it to AVG technical support along with your support request. This allows AVG to provide faster support to you.

    In AVG 8, AVG diagnostics is not directly accessible through the user interface. To use it, you need to run avgdiag.exe in your AVG installation folder. The program will collect the needed information and allow you to write a message describing your problem which will then be forwarded to the support team.

    It used to be a very handy tool in AVG 7.5, I really wonder why they removed direct access through the interface to this application in version 8.
     
  21. cdr

    cdr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Posts:
    143
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC USA
    Thanks, Firecat! I had no idea this utility existed. Next time Firefox crashes, I'll utilize this. I appreciate your help!;)
     
  22. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    you will find it in Program Files/AVG8
    scroll down till you see avgdiag
    if you do not have hidden files and folders open you will see it this way, if you do have it checked you will see it as avgdiag.exe

    Just double click it, once it pops up it will ask you for your email address and a description of what you are seeing.
    Then click on diagnose and send button
    Give it a few minutes and it will come back saying it sent.

    Sorry I was not around today to answer your message.

    robin
     
  23. Stainton

    Stainton Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    I upgraded from AVG 7.5 to AVG 8.0 and was given a new licence key to enable this. I have decided to stay with AVG 7.5 for now but can I download a newer version of AVG 8.0 later and if so how?
     
  24. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I would check the AVG web site for upgrades to 8.0+ . Don't forget that 7.5 will be discontinued by the end of the year, and if you wait too long they might not honor your upgrade from 7.5 to 8.0. :)
     
  25. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,213
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    No, they will always honor the upgrade to AVG 8.0 (and beyond). In fact the license conversion is not really needed either - AVG 8.0 accepts the 7.5 key anyway. :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.