avast4 vailable !

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by minacross, Dec 19, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. minacross

    minacross Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Posts:
    658
    both home and pro version. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ZZZ7

    ZZZ7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    72
    Your on every board pumping this [avp] ...........so tell us what's so good about it !

    I think it's crap ...........BTW!
     
  3. Vampirefo

    Vampirefo Guest

    I wonder also cause in this thread, the poster doesn't like the AVP http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=4838;start=0
     
  4. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Postings like these are allowed and appreciated over on this board ;)

    No freeware antivirus - AVG included - can compete with the top notch commercial antiviruses. That said: Avast does score far better than AVG on the virusbulletin test(s).

    regards,

    paul
     
  5. eyespy

    eyespy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Posts:
    490
    Location:
    Oh Canada !!
    Paul...

    when are you going to test this version ??

    regards,
    bill ;)
     
  6. eyespy

    eyespy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Posts:
    490
    Location:
    Oh Canada !!
    Mina,
    could you post a link for us ??
    Thanks,
    bill ;)
     
  7. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

  8. eyespy

    eyespy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Posts:
    490
    Location:
    Oh Canada !!
    Thanks FanJ,
    But I can't seem to find ver. 4 at the site !!

    regards,
    bill :)
     
  9. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

  10. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    You tell us! Why do you think AVAST is crap? Give us some facts before conclusion! :doubt:

    AVAST is a solid AntiVirus program and far from "crap"! Price is unbeatable… ;)


    Technodrome
     
  11. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Bill,

    As soon as time permits - we do have software piling up here waiting to be tested :p.

    regards.

    paul
     
  12. eyespy

    eyespy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Posts:
    490
    Location:
    Oh Canada !!
    Thanks FanJ !
    That link worked. I got the file and will install later on today.
    Screenshots to follow !!

    Regards,
    bill ;)
     
  13. eyespy

    eyespy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Posts:
    490
    Location:
    Oh Canada !!
    Here's some screenshots !!
    I've got more and will try to post them later. The Memory Usage shots are worth a look !!

    Very slick interface !

    regards,
    bill :)
     

    Attached Files:

  14. wizard

    wizard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    818
    Location:
    Europe - Germany - Duesseldorf
    I have not called it crap but AVAST 3 was one of the worst AV software I ever tried. Too many false positives, poor (zoo) detection. Maybe the new version has improved - I will test within the next days.

    wizard
     
  15. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    I agree! But there are commercial (well Know) antivirus products with very very poor Zoo virus detection....



    Technodrome
     
  16. eyespy

    eyespy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Posts:
    490
    Location:
    Oh Canada !!
    online update !
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Eduard

    Eduard Guest

    At first - I'm from ALWIL Software - developer of avast!
    Thanks a lot for place and you give to our new antivirus.
    I read some notice about false positives already and today again. I asked for files containing false alarms to correct our database - nothing happend.
    It's the first time I read about poor detection of zoo. I should answer:
    1. Not all files you count as infected are infected by viruses - virus should be able to spread and we know about a lot of "virus collections" containing a lot of other things than viruses.
    2. We maintain a huge virus collection and avast! is compared on everyday basis with competitors and we know that some products which are so loved here have results I can't comment here. But we know that their collection are scanned by their products much better then by avast!
    3. Everyone can send us a file which contain virus avast! checks as a clean. Therefore I'm looking forward to obtain thousends of "infected" files.
    4. Some of programs you like have problems with VB100% and some of them don't send their products to Virus Bulletin at all.

    Best regards Eduard Kucera
     
  18. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
  19. Ghost

    Ghost Guest

    Is there some kind of special routine to be followed to get the program to install?

    Do you have to create a special directory or folder for it? Put it in a special place?

    I can't get it to install correctly.
     
  20. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    Thank you Mr. Eduard for your notes!

    To subbmit your virus Incident Report go here:
    http://www.avast.com/form.htm


    Technodrome
     
  21. eyespy

    eyespy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Posts:
    490
    Location:
    Oh Canada !!
    TD,
    is that the Pro Version ?

    Did you check the Memory usage ?

    I have some screenshots but can't post them !!


    regards,
    bill :)
     
  22. eyespy

    eyespy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Posts:
    490
    Location:
    Oh Canada !!
    Ghost,
    I just created a directory................... c:\security\avast, and than installed the Avast file to that folder. I'm using Win2K and I had no problems.
    Make sure you disable other AV programs before you do an install of Avast !

    regards,
    bill ;)
     
  23. eyespy

    eyespy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Posts:
    490
    Location:
    Oh Canada !!
    Eduard,
    thanks for dropping by !

    My very first concern is the memory usage.

    ashserve.exe is using 25,580k by itself !!

    Are you aware of the high memory usage ?

    I'm using Win2k !

    Kindest regards,
    bill :)
     
  24. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    3 avast4! componetns are running in background(Windows XP)! They are using around 39 MB of memory! :eek:



    Technodrome
     
  25. Ghost

    Ghost Guest

    Thanks, guys. The beta 4 install went without a hitch this time. Scanning with it now.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.