Avast Versions Releases

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Tyrizian, Feb 5, 2017.

  1. guest

    guest Guest

  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,991
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Seeing how I have a week to consider how I deal with the Macrium bug, I reinstalled avast about 2 hours ago and just noticed that streaming updates stopped my time at 9:15 pm. That's near enough to an hour ago. Not too worried at this point, I know it's happened before.

    Edit: I just restarted my machine and received an update so it may be just something on this machine. Monitoring...
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2017
  3. Ferda

    Ferda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Posts:
    7
  4. guest

    guest Guest

    ?
    My post was a question not an affirmation.
     
  5. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,846
    Are all of you running the firewall? I tested it out here on a machine at work but it broke connectivity in Outlook to my Exchange server.
     
  6. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i am running the firewall and i did not have any issues with outlook at all. you can always add it as an exception if needed.
     
  7. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,846
    Gotcha. It also slowed down logging into my domain. Guess I need tweaks for it.
     
  8. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,991
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Manually running Macrium Reflect does indeed work. Thanks guys! :)

    Because the latest version of Norton stinks I am happily installing avast back on my machines.
     
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,991
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    This story is titled "Avast Free Antivirus 2016" but the RSS feed said 2017 and it was posted 14th February 2017, so...

    http://au.pcmag.com/avast-free-antivirus-2015/25820/review/avast-free-antivirus-2017

     
  10. Ferda

    Ferda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    Your question answered my question, the failure to detect Eicar saved as a document is by design, ie in default configuration.

    In summary I am thanking you for your question even though it was not an affirmation to my question :D
     
  11. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,846
    Wow really? Symantec is that bad now?

    What settings are you running your Avast at Krusty?
     
  12. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,991
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    It has a major issue forgetting to automatically run Live Update and scans. Symantec are aware and are currently looking into it.
    Pretty much default, except I've enabled scanning for PUPs and have scheduled a daily quick scan. I did have to exclude HMP.A but so far that is the only false positive.

    Not bad so far.

    Oh, I changed CyberCapture to Let me decide.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2017
  13. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,846
    Gotcha. Thanks for the information!

    Cheers!
     
  14. TomAZ

    TomAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,131
    Location:
    USA
    Anyone running Avast Free 2017 with Win XP? If so, how's your experience been?
     
  15. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,991
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    A work-around for the Macrium Reflect bug:

    http://forum.macrium.com/FindPost10821.aspx

    https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=196883.msg1368562#msg1368562
     
  16. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,088
    Location:
    USA
    On the Avast forum someone posted that there is a new build. I currently have 17.1.2286 build 17.1.3394.0 and the newer build is 17.1.3394.42 .The internal updater is not offering this newer build. Is anyone else seeing it? ChangeLog?

    I'm still seeing the problem with the Full Scan where no progress is displayed - it stays 0%...To my mind this is a serious bug.
     
  17. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,124
    Location:
    UK
  18. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,088
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for confirming :thumb:
     
  19. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,785
    What Avast do you have?
    My Avast Premier says: Current Version 17.1.2286 (Build 17.1.3394.0) , Release date: 07-02-17

    The screenshot from Avast Free (clubhouse1) : Current Version 17.1.2286 (Build 17.1.3394.44), Release date: 07-02-17
     
  20. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,088
    Location:
    USA
    I'm using Avast Free and the Update page say 17.1.2286 (Build 17.1.3394.0) release date 2/7/2017
     
  21. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,991
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I received that build some time yesterday. If you still haven't received it you might try a restart and see if that does the trick for you.
     
  22. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,785
  23. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    seems like you are correct. i have now restarted 3 system and all were at the .42 after the restarts
     
  24. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,785
    Not in my case.
    3 restarts and build 17.1.3394.0 remains.
    In order to get the build 17.1.3394.42 I had to run the AvEmUpdate.exe
     
  25. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    interesting. so far for me every system was updated after a restart
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.