Avast Versions Releases

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Tyrizian, Feb 5, 2017.

  1. boombastik

    boombastik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Posts:
    248
    Location:
    Greece
    Because u had old avast version and some day u unistalled it. Now when u install the new avast it puts the same license u have back then.
    If u want one year licence unistall it and restart then install it again it will create a new license or wait one month to reregister auutomatically.
     
  2. Ultra Male

    Ultra Male Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    358
    Location:
    Dubai
    Right, thanks bro
     
  3. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,022
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi all

    https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=217448.0

    With best Regards
    Mops21
     
  4. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,647
    Nnew stable version 18.3.2331 has just been released.
    https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=217950.0
    Release history: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=183543.0
     
  5. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    494
    Location:
    Belgium
    They did a small update fast after release : 18.3.2333
     
  6. amico81

    amico81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    Posts:
    66
    Location:
    Germany
    new stable version 18.3.2333 has just been released.

    What's new:

    - Avast now opens even faster

    - Avast Passwords settings have been redesigned for easier use

    Fixed:

    - Squashed a Virus Chest bug that mistakenly deleted files when you tried to restore them
    - Our welcome screen is now displayed properly after Avast is installed
    - Firewall no longer blocks your emails over IPv6
    - Game Mode popups about newly added games now slide away as intended
    - Exterminated a Behavior Shield startup bug
     
  7. WildByDesign

    WildByDesign Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Posts:
    2,587
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  8. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,282
    It was about time!
     
  9. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,316
    Location:
    Earth
    I did like this but it was making my PC on boot loop :(
     
  10. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,022
    Location:
    Germany
  11. Pirate_fin

    Pirate_fin Guest

    Does anybody know what these avast url's are? Bacause F-Secure Freedome VPN tracking protection blocks them.

    v7.stats.avast.com and v7event.stats.avast.com

    I have contacted F-Secure's ******** support few times already about those url's, but they are still being blocked and no response from them to why they are blocked..
     
  12. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    432
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I also would like to know this because i al thinking about switching too Avast Internet Security 2018
     
  13. nothereforlong

    nothereforlong Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Posts:
    8
    I hope I am wrong, but just from googling, but when you type v7event.stats.avast.com into google, the first result is:

    https://www.threatcrowd.org/domain.php?domain=v7event.stats.avast.com

    which seems to suggest that the website is malicious. Or at least that is the implication from the files that talk to the domain. However, given it is an antivirus company, I would imagine those files that are being sent along to that address are meant to be malicious.

    However, it would be odd in the extreme if they were just pulling information off such a website, in order to identify it as malicious. Surely you would whitelist all the antivirus website domains. Or at least require a person to look at any website of a security company that you are about to blacklist.
     
  14. Pirate_fin

    Pirate_fin Guest

    This is really strange and avast is working fine with those url's blocked. I have contacted F-Secure again and hopefully this time they will give some answers to why they are blocking something related to avast antivirus.

    There doesn't seem to be any easy way to contact avast support and their forums are useless when trying to get answers from anybody else than avast users.
     
  15. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,282
    I got some nag screens to buy Avast Internet Security but finally my free licence is now valid for 364 days. It's a nice solution with silent mode. :D
     
  16. ZeroDay

    ZeroDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Posts:
    714
    Location:
    UK
    I've read of more than a few people having their tracking protection go insane whilst using Avast. I have no links to support this but I've definitely seen it mention a few times recently.
     
  17. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,345
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
     
  18. ZeroDay

    ZeroDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Posts:
    714
    Location:
    UK
    Ahh, yes. That was the one. Thank you.
     
  19. Pirate_fin

    Pirate_fin Guest

    I got response from F-Secure today and they are blocking those urls and subdomains, because they are being used to collect information and statistics about Avast users.

    Blocking them doesn't seem to affect avast in any way and it was working normally when i used it.

    Avast is the only antivirus that triggers Freedome VPN's tracking protection like that, so i won't be using avast any more.
     
  20. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,022
    Location:
    Germany
  21. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,022
    Location:
    Germany
  22. ZeroDay

    ZeroDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Posts:
    714
    Location:
    UK
    I just thought I'd share an excellent post from Slyguy over on MalwareTips regarding Avast.

    Link to the post and post quote: https://malwaretips.com/threads/fresh-on-the-heels-of-kaspersky-adobanal.82132/#post-728558

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2018
  23. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,365
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    LMAO, so now Avast is openly admitting that they are spying? But at least they don't show any nag-screens anymore, if I understood correctly. What ever happened to the days that you could trust your OS, browser and AV's, to respect your privacy?
     
  24. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    621
  25. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    674
    Location:
    USA
    I think we have crossed the point of no return regarding trust in OS, browser and AV's. Everybody is mining data these days. Those items have access to all of our data and habits. Bad combination if we cannot trust them!

    OS = No, except for some open source Linux distros
    Browser = No, except for a few open source browsers
    AV = No

    Solution, move to a Linux distro you trust, with a browser you trust, and no need for a stinkin AV!!! :D
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.