Avast license 4.8 work with V5.0?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Apr 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,296
    I seem to have read that a V 4.8 license will not be accepted by V 5.
    I am not talking about an installation of V 5 over V4.8, but using a 4.8 license With a new install of V5. Thanks.
    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  2. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    it will work if its still a valid license. i forget the site, but if u check the avast forums im sure u can find it where u put in the email u used to register ur 4.8 license and it will send u the new v5 license file to ur email.
     
  3. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,505
    Location:
    Deep Into Blues Baby..
    Jerry here ya go, assuming you have 'PRO' ?
    Convert your avast! 4.0 to 5.0
    http://www.avast.com/resend-license.php
     
  4. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,296
    I am sure of it since it is a trial I installed last Fri.:D

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  5. 3GUSER

    3GUSER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    812
    Jerry , what benefit you see in the Pro version that the Free doesn't have ?
     
  6. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,296
    A good question, and I am not sure it offers more protection when the FREE :D runs alongside MBAM.
    I understand that the Pro has a sandbox, but I am not sure I want to use that due to problems with KIS and an inability to remove the sandbox folders after uninstall. That is another problem so please don't address that problem.

    Otherwise, I don't really see an advantage. Avast has provided a first class AV in the Free version.

    As to the license, there is a seller on ebay who has a bunch of 4.8 Pro licenses. I suspect they are OEM, and based upon the answers I have it is doubtful if they would be accepted by Alwil for V5.
    I may decide to stick with the Free version.

    I have some licenses for other AVs, but Avast has always run extremely well on my systems and for those friends on whose computers I have installed them.

    Thanks for the answers folks.

    Added
    The ebay seller confirmed that the licenses are only for V 4.8.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2010
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.