Avast license 4.8 work with V5.0?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Apr 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I seem to have read that a V 4.8 license will not be accepted by V 5.
    I am not talking about an installation of V 5 over V4.8, but using a 4.8 license With a new install of V5. Thanks.
    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  2. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    it will work if its still a valid license. i forget the site, but if u check the avast forums im sure u can find it where u put in the email u used to register ur 4.8 license and it will send u the new v5 license file to ur email.
     
  3. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,135
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
    Jerry here ya go, assuming you have 'PRO' ?
    Convert your avast! 4.0 to 5.0
    http://www.avast.com/resend-license.php
     
  4. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I am sure of it since it is a trial I installed last Fri.:D

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  5. 3GUSER

    3GUSER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    812
    Jerry , what benefit you see in the Pro version that the Free doesn't have ?
     
  6. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    A good question, and I am not sure it offers more protection when the FREE :D runs alongside MBAM.
    I understand that the Pro has a sandbox, but I am not sure I want to use that due to problems with KIS and an inability to remove the sandbox folders after uninstall. That is another problem so please don't address that problem.

    Otherwise, I don't really see an advantage. Avast has provided a first class AV in the Free version.

    As to the license, there is a seller on ebay who has a bunch of 4.8 Pro licenses. I suspect they are OEM, and based upon the answers I have it is doubtful if they would be accepted by Alwil for V5.
    I may decide to stick with the Free version.

    I have some licenses for other AVs, but Avast has always run extremely well on my systems and for those friends on whose computers I have installed them.

    Thanks for the answers folks.

    Added
    The ebay seller confirmed that the licenses are only for V 4.8.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2010
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.