Avast IS virtualized question/problem with Flash in Chrome

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by acr1965, Dec 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I usually use Chrome to browse the net but have found that on some sites while running Chrome virtualized Flash does not load to steam media (it plays fine on Youtube). Internet Explorer can go to these same sites and load/ stream Flash media fine. Is there some setting I need to make in Chrome or Avast so that Flash will always play correctly while still having the browser virtualized?

    thanks
     
  2. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    I have the same issue.

    Are you on an x64 system?

    Avast told me sometimes it works sometimes it doesnt. Oh well. Thats when I came to the conclusion that the Avast sandbox is nowhere near close to being ready yet. Im converting back to my old setup with an on demand antivirus and sandboxie.
     
  3. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    no 32 bit- odd it works fine in IE so maybe it's a Chrome specific issue for me.
     
  4. codylucas16

    codylucas16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    267
    Yeah, iI gave Avast IS a try and the same problem happened but in every browser.
     
  5. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Have you installed Flash Player (10.1.102.64) and Flash ActiveX Player (10.1.102.64)? Chrome has built-in flash player too. Try to disable built-in plugin and it will force it to use external flash player plugin.
     
  6. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,449
    Location:
    Mumbai
    i had the same problem..clear chrome's cache and delete sandbox contents and then try the site again
     
  7. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
  8. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,449
    Location:
    Mumbai
    m keeping an eye on ur thread ...
     
  9. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
  10. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    That was done before this thread. I was also having the issue and brought it up. Im converting back to Sandboxie. Its much more configurable for a better end user experience.
     
  11. mrpink

    mrpink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    376
    For a workaround you can use IE Tab for Chrome. I think it will do the job
     
  12. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Flash is an every day part of web browsing. There is absolutely no reason this issue should even be present.
     
  13. mrpink

    mrpink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    376
    Oh, i thought it was Chrome's fault. I had some similar issues myself with it but i don't use Avast. In a forum that i'm a member i wasn't able to play the embedded videos from YouTube. I uninstalled and reinstalled it back to solve the problem
     
  14. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Nope. As soon as you remove the browser from the Avast Sandbox it functions properly. As soon as you add it back to the Sandbox to be virtualized the error occurs telling you that you are missing plugins when you are not.
     
  15. mrpink

    mrpink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    376

    I think now i'll quit trying to win a license from Avast's giveaway :D
     
  16. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,937
    Location:
    London On
    Good Morning ! Currently updated my flash player and so far no issues while using Virtualization with Avast. Using Firefox and Chrome as my main browsers and I.E.8 as secondary browser and so far as stated no issues. I'll keep everyone updated if problems present themselves. Sincerely...Securon
     
  17. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Avast said sometimes it will work, sometimes it wont, but it definitely wont work 100% of the time.
     
  18. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Well now a new issue/problem. I installed DivX Plus 8 player and try to run it virtualized with Avast- but for some reason DivX player will not run this way. No problem running VLC, WMP or MPC virtualized.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.