avast is flipping out

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Page42, Dec 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fuzzydice45

    Fuzzydice45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    Australia
    To completely disable avast just disable the startup key in msconfig AND the services in services.msc, you don't need to change anything within avast itself.
     
  2. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,738
    Location:
    USA
    Pretty sure you're gonna have to disable avast self-defense module first.
     
  3. Fuzzydice45

    Fuzzydice45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    Australia
    Oh yeah thats the old version... disable the self defence thingy and then the services.
    ;)
     
  4. progress

    progress Guest

    The prestige of Avast seems to be damaged :rolleyes:
     
  5. julieinwv

    julieinwv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Hi. I'm new and found this forum when my Avast went nuts. I have since turned it off and installed Microsoft Security Essentials. However, before I could turn it off I put 32 things in my Virus Chest, and now I cannot get them to restore. Has anyone else had that problem? If so, what can I do *pulling my hair out*
     
  6. Vladimyr

    Vladimyr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Posts:
    461
    Location:
    Australia
    Update 091203-1 has installed. Just about to re-activate file/standard shields and see what happens.

    Edit: ½ hour later - so far, so good!
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2009
  7. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Ok, lots of stuff everywhere, but has anyone actually cared to contact ALWIL team instead recommend everyone to get rid of avast! right away and disable it in all sorts of stupid ways?
     
  8. julieinwv

    julieinwv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    I've got the latest update now - 091203-1 and have turned everything back on. It's not alerting on anything. However, the 32 things I put in my Virus Chest still will not Restore. Any ideas?
     
  9. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    julieinwv, try scanning each item in the infected area of the chest. Right click each file, select "scan" if it scans clean, then try to restore them, one at a time.
    Little bit of guesswork, here, but it's got a good chance of working.
     
  10. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    I have the latest update also, had noticed some files being alerted on earlier (for example, during the memory test) and now all seems to be normal.
    Interested to know what went wrong, but don't need to know.
    They all have their hiccups from time to time.
     
  11. Vladimyr

    Vladimyr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Posts:
    461
    Location:
    Australia
    Haven't deliberately ignored you :D it's just that I seem to have been lucky.
    On XP I've not had 4.8 put anything in the 'Chest' or had any trouble getting the 3 items that 5.0 put in there on only one PC, back where they belong using 'Restore'.

    Someone who can help (edit: like speedy 'Tarq57') may need to know:
    What is your Windows version?
    Which avast! are we talking? (4.8 or 5.0-Beta)
     
  12. julieinwv

    julieinwv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Good idea..... however, I tried it and once I scan them it changes to 'no virus' but it still won't restore.
     
  13. julieinwv

    julieinwv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    I'm using XP. 4.8 Home Edition. Thank you :)
     
  14. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,121
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
    My sister had called about an alert tonight and it seems to match the other reports. From what she said, she had ignored the warning which makes me happy. My mother's rig also has avast but she didn't mention anything weird.

    I'm just thankful that I didn't install avast on a friends machine tonight. She had a brand new machine infected with a rogue and if I had installed avast (instead of MSE) I would have let it clean the files. Sometimes we all get lucky :cool:.

    Let's hope they get this sorted quickly. Avast has always been reliable and I put it on all of my families computers.
     
  15. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,738
    Location:
    USA
    I didn't read anyone here at Wilders recommend everyone get rid of avast right away, and as for recommending to disable it in all sorts of stupid ways, no one recommended that either. What I do see is lots of users discussing what they are doing to cope with the situation. Perhaps you can enlighten us as to these stupid ways.

    PS- I have installed the newest update 091203-1 and so far so good.
     
  16. Zombini

    Zombini Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Posts:
    469
    Wait .. who cares about False Positives as long as you have great detection :rolleyes: That was the general consensus on this thread wasn't it https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=259306

    Small vendors play fast and loose with their detections because their exposure is not that large. If a McAfee or Symantec did something so stupid I am sure their stock would tank and they probably wouldn't recover for at least 6 months.

    The most hilarious part is that looks like the Avast developers stole my idea of a 100% detection AV solution https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1582440&postcount=64.

    Lolz.. 100% detection with 100% FPs.
     
  17. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Disabling it through msconfig IS stupid. First you disable self-defense for that and also disable it completelly. There is option to pause separate providers and also an option to terminate (disable) separate providers.
     
  18. stackz

    stackz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    I just checked my daughter's pc and avast had put a few files in the virus chest. Selecting restore does seem to restore the files, but there is no visual notification of the restoration and a copy of the file remains in the vault. After checking that the files had in fact restored, I just selected delete to empty the virus chest.
     
  19. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,738
    Location:
    USA
    What does that mean? "First you disable self-defense for that and also disable it completelly"? o_O
    When providers have been terminated, do they remain off on reboot?
    --> Edit: I see the answer to my question. All I had to do was read the choices a little more carefully. ;)
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2009
  20. Fuzzydice45

    Fuzzydice45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    Australia
    Of course disabling avast through msconfig and services.msc is only if disabling the shields in the avast UI doesn't work.
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2009
  21. julieinwv

    julieinwv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Thank you. I think that might be what's going on. I'm just reading that very thing on the Avast forum. I'll have to go through and see which ones I restored, etc.. Ahh what a mess. Thanks for letting me know :)
     
  22. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    Sorry, should have mentioned. A copy of the file is retained in the chest.
    Restoring those 32 to their original locations should have fixed problems. It is worth double-checking each location to make sure the file has restored before deleting it from the chest.
    Right PITA, I know.
    I've been fortunate myself. Fortunate to have found forums like this one and the Avast forum long enough ago to realize that in the event of detection, the first thing one does is investigate, rather than immediately delete/quarantine.

    I don't recall being called "speedy" before.:D
    Not speedy enough, I'm afraid, both in realizing what was happening, and in being able to respond to it.
    Would have been nice to be able to get through to the Avast forum in a more timely fashion, to try and minimize damage. Some poor bu@@ers have had their OS hosed through this one. :'(
     
  23. julieinwv

    julieinwv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Thank you all so much for your help! I appreciate it! I will go through each file to be sure it's restored.
     
  24. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,589
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Everything working fine now.
    No more FPs:D
     
  25. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.