Avast forum

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by mick92z, Apr 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mick92z

    mick92z Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    499
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Hi, is Avast forum down ? I cannot reach it. I don't use Avast, but people on Yahoo are saying Avast is reporting mutiple webpages as infected, some reporting all webpages infected
     
  2. littlebits

    littlebits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    262
    Something is wrong with Avast, it is not updating and their complete website is down.

    It is reporting several safe websites as infected.

    I hope this gets resolved soon.

    Thanks.:D
     
  3. mick92z

    mick92z Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    499
    Location:
    Nottingham
    I guess Avast has gone nuts. There forum must have crashed from people seeking advice
     
  4. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
  5. Jadda

    Jadda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    425
    I have Avast, and it's blocking almost every page I try to access. Web Shield is going nuts! Can't update Avast either, so I guess something has happened to the servers. Deactivated Web Shield and File Shield at the moment to be able to surf the net.
     
  6. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    I tried to go to the site also and it will not let me in and worse it is saying that www.comcast.net is infected- huho_Oo_O??
    It seems it is doing this after the last update
    on my side it cannot update but i have clients who are calling me and telling me there is a problem and this sites and others are having problems

    robin
     
  7. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,138
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
  8. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    They has something similar about two weeks ago... Oh well, was fixed in a few hours then.
     
  9. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,138
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
    Well I just tried getting the latest .def update and stalls
    out...good thing for me I guess, NO POP-UPS ;)
     
  10. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    mine just tried itself and it said it was having problem connecting to the server.
    Hopefully they see this here and all over and fix this like asap
    I also found email sending is very slow- I closed off the residential shield and email goes. Put it back email stalls
    robin
     
  11. pbelter82

    pbelter82 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    :D zDWat ever you do do not do a boot time scan with this update upplied, it will move EVERYTHING to the CHEST!!!!!!!!!! Kind of reminds of Cheech & Chong.
    Hey Doctor, Everything goes up his nose.

    I haven't had any complaints about e-mail Yet.
     
  12. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    yea i reported these problems too in their forum
     
  13. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    618
    The problem is solved by definitions update 110411-2. Please update and you should be fine.

    Apologies for the inconvenience!
    Vlk
     
  14. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Well, no wonder the forums are down... Looks like a new record. :rolleyes: :mad: (Previous was something like 3,500 during the last major screw-up)
     

    Attached Files:

  15. pbelter82

    pbelter82 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    So, you were lucky to get there. Were there any available fixes? or Ideas on when they might have something?
     
  16. watcher

    watcher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1
    Somehow, Firefox 3.6.16 is not being affected by Avast blocks in my machine, only Opera 11.01. IE6 also isn't being blocked here, but I saw screenshots in other forums showing newer versions are (IE9?). I used facebook.com homepage (logged off) as test page.

    Now I ask, even this being an error in the definitions file or a bug in the engine, isn't it strange that Avast would block some browsers' connection attempts and not others?
     
  17. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Already fixed. See the post from Vlk (CTO) above.
     
  18. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    618
  19. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,138
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
  20. pbelter82

    pbelter82 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Well it seems that it is gonna take a while before I can get the update. Good thing we are between shifts. :oops:
     
  21. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    618
    The forum is still under DDoS, most likely from desparate users seeking help. Hopefully, the blog will get enough exposure for the situation to calm down soon.
     
  22. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,138
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
    ok cool and thanks alot
     
  23. pbelter82

    pbelter82 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Ok, what goofball hit that big red distribute button (LOL). Sounds like you guys are having a for real Monday. Oh well, haven't been able to get the AMS server to grab the update and my phone is off the hook, now. Dinner will be cold and wah wahh waahh.
     
  24. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    I am pointing the people from Yahoo Answers over to that blog post so some people will be checking it out.
     
  25. skbaltimore

    skbaltimore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Posts:
    306
    Exact same thing here; for a couple of hours, it was total hell. I uninstalled/re-installed 6.0, but was still unable to update. It was like Web Shield was having a total nervous breakdown or something -- it just started blocking everything. Finally, about 30 minutes ago, I was able to update and everything seems to be ok now. (I sure wish avast gave the option to save settings when uninstalling, though. Now I have to go through the process of telling it that HiJack This and PerfectDisk are "trusted" programs.) :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.