Avast boot scan

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by ruairi, Sep 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ruairi

    ruairi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Hi everyone,
    this is my first post so please go easy if it aint in the correct thread.
    My laptop has recently been playing up by freezing on start up.not loading task bar,redirecting my browser and not allowing me to access sites regarding internet security.
    So I ran a few different programmes such as avg,and spybot and thesse found a variety of spyware,malware and viruses.
    So having taken care of these I still was having some trouble tho not as bad as before.
    The main problem is between boot up and loading my personal settings,sometimes it fails to loadmy taskbar and desktop and then freezes.So I ran avast at boot up which returned several trojans.Only one of which I was able to move to the chest,when I tried to do anything with the others I got the message 'specified file is read only'.
    The trojans found were called C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\explorer.exe C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\winlogon.exe C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\svchost.exe C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\lsass.exe and C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\spoolsv.exe...[this was the only one I was able to move to the chest.
    I may also add it seems one of these is stopping my browser from acessing sites that provide free security software.
    Please could someone advise me please.
     
  2. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    I hate to say it, but in my opinion, it's time for a reformat for you... When it gets that far gone, fixing things is pretty dubious, and the time spent trying to do so will probably far exceed the time needed to reformat and reinstall the OS. If you have your disks, or a restore image on another partition, I would do the reinstall. Just save or backup any data you have, and make sure it's clean also when you put it back.
     
  3. Cerxes

    Cerxes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    Northern Europe
    Yes, I agree with Kerodo that it´s time to reformat since they already messed around with your systemfiles. Either use some other OS (*nix, Vista) or if you have XP, create an user account + hardening immediately after your new Windows installation (see here how to achieve this).

    /C.
     
  4. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    +1 for reinstall from scratch.
     
  5. ruairi

    ruairi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    cheers guys,it wont even load my desktop now.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.