Avast behavior shield warning (CCleaner)

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by acr1965, May 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    So maybe this is some false positive? Anyway, this is the first behavior shield warning from Avast I have seen. I had just downloaded the most recent version of CCleaner (3.07.1457) and ran it. I also have IE9. Any thoughts on this warning?
     

    Attached Files:

    • cc1.jpg
      cc1.jpg
      File size:
      51.6 KB
      Views:
      1,134
    • cc2.jpg
      cc2.jpg
      File size:
      73.7 KB
      Views:
      14
  2. Vladimyr

    Vladimyr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Posts:
    461
    Location:
    Australia
    Looks like Ccleaner has accessed the location and avast! BSh has "popped it's cork". Can you upload the file nsdialogs.dll to virustotal or similar?
     
  3. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    No sorry. If the issue comes up again I will get a scan though.
     
  4. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,277
    Location:
    Earth
    Avast free is very good ! surprised what it offers , i ditched Antivir now.... Avast has P2p webshield , behaviour stuff good value free. :D Plus i can hide the icon in tray i like that idea. I did leave the webshield out though, not keen on them http scanning, the pro version only seems to offer 1 more thing than free.
     
  5. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    What do this have to do with what the op has mentioned?
     
  6. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,303
    Location:
    England
    ccleaner checks on install to see if it is the latest version. My firewall asks permission, I say no. The install still goes ahead though with a problem.

    It will also check to see what your default browser is in order to see whether to offer you Chrome download or not.
     
  7. jaodsvuda

    jaodsvuda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Posts:
    146
    Portable CCleaner saves the day - there´s no "E.T. phone home..." (at least , Mamutu didn´t catch a thing).
     
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Not exactly true. Update checks are more frequent with paid version, you get SafeZone, manual Sandbox and full control over how it works and no ads.
    A bit more than just 1 more thing :p

    Btw, acr1965, how did you get to a conclusion that it's CCleaner who's causing it? Not sure why would Cleaner be running component from temp folder... plus if it was, you'd get it each time you'd use CCleaner (it would probably be reproducable).
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.