AVAST! and slow scanning

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by the insider, Apr 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. the insider

    the insider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Posts:
    151
    does anyone else has this experience too ? If I do a on-demand scan it takes my PC almost 1 hour to scan my HD, previously it was only about 30 minutes
    It seems to me that the standard scan is constantly replaced by the deep scan .... nothing else is changed on my pc so it must be the new version which is causing this ....:(
     
  2. DevilFrank

    DevilFrank Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Posts:
    108
    V4.8? Yes, it´s my experience too.
     
  3. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    i reccomented avast 4.8 to someone who had an infected computer.
    they ran a boot time scan and it took all night. something like 60 out of 70gb used with little amount of archives.
     
  4. the insider

    the insider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Posts:
    151
    so I am not alone : what a relief but .... any remedy o_O
    is this bug already known at Allwil o_O
     
  5. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Scan time of Avast 4.8 : 1h1m33s.
     
  6. computer geek

    computer geek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Posts:
    776
    That is reasonable.
     
  7. computer geek

    computer geek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Posts:
    776
    Do you scan archieves in thourough mode?
     
  8. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Scan archieves was disabled while I was running a thorough scan, that's why the scanning was so fast probably.
    I run all these scanners only one time. In theory they are supposed to find only false positives and that happens also in practice.
     
  9. rookieman

    rookieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    409
    This is the scan that is done on my son's computer about every 5 days or so.:D
     
  10. ggf31416

    ggf31416 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    314
    Location:
    Uruguay
  11. Sm3K3R

    Sm3K3R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    494
    Install BD 10 free along with it and scan with that.The scan time will be lower and your computer will be scanned by 2 antiviruses in same time with the help of the real time scaner of AVAST.Just a suggestion ,and keep in mind that BD 10 its better in detection of spywares and adds.These 2 antiviruses complete each other just well.
     
  12. computer geek

    computer geek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Posts:
    776
    The update process may conflict?
     
  13. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    like people said.... the more a scanner scans, the slower it is.

    its not rocket-science, avast 4.8 scans more than before.

    i never understand the reason for having a 'fast scanner', to me... this makes me wonder about what actually is being scanned.
     
  14. computer geek

    computer geek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Posts:
    776
    It is true that some are faster then others for the way they were made.
     
  15. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    A program (any modern AV program) must be as light and fast as possible . In such a dynamic world we live in one can no longer afford waiting slow scans . ~Off topic comment removed. - Ron~ Slow scan doesn't mean better detection

    (sorry for the off-topic)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 8, 2008
  16. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    You can add me to list of people who found avast to scan slowly.

    Speed may not be the most important factor in scanning, but a slow scanner just discourages me from running it (yes I can run it overnight, but thats besides the point).
     
  17. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Ppl still run on-demand scans? Thats so pre-Win3.1...
    Why the heck we have real-time scanners then?
     
  18. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    You're right.....when a system is clean......why not trust the real-time modules?
    But before one knows it's clean for sure, that's when the on-demand comes in and can be used for the initial scan and after that.........let the real-time factory do it's work!
     
  19. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    If you'd ever access infected file already on your system you'd be notified anyway. So not even initial scan is needed...
     
  20. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Hey RejZoR, for me, the reason for ondemand scanning is I dont run realtime AV.
     
  21. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    In addition with some AVs, the highest heuristic settings are only available with the Scanner.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.