Avast 8 Released!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by avman1995, Feb 28, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dazed1

    dazed1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    161
    Sorry for previous post, my bad.

    Great job for Avast, but could you please run HMP and MBAM after? thanks!
     
  2. nine9s

    nine9s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Posts:
    309
    Location:
    USA
    I asked same. He does not us a virtual machine and does not want to risk stuff so he kills it before that point.
     
  3. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    944
    Location:
    india
    One of the answer to questions spywar asked to avast team member:
    http://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/2013/09/1361986901-wow.png

    Only 2/3 new Evo detections every 10 minutes (almost).
    Since we have about 60/80 streamings per day, we get every day about 120/160 new Evo detections every day !
    And one of them detects THOUSANDS AND THOUSANDS of samples ......

    I am wondering what happened to MDE?? I am not seeing anything from that new technology so far?? Guess its not ready yet.
     
  4. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    944
    Location:
    india
    can you please report this issue on avast forums :D
     
  5. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Yet another potentially good test ruined by another clueless user. I don't know where he got an idea that turning off Auto Sandbox will make Evo-Gen detections any more active... :rolleyes: How the hell ppl test stuff for so long yet they have absolutelly no clue how anything works. You can't be a blood ytester if you don't even know how programs work. I may be avast! Evangelist and some will say i'm biased but then i also know in-depth how other porgrams work like BitDefender, Panda, AVG etc etc... and i can safely say i'd never do anything as stupid.
     
  6. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    944
    Location:
    india
    Yeah! Because filerep,evo-gen and sandbox are needed to run together even disabling one of them ruins the whole protection and makes it less effective
     
  7. dazed1

    dazed1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    161
    Please, report to Avast web filter says that it blocked the file, but like 20% of the time, "it block a download" but yet it splits out and end on desktop! it happen like many times till now from my testing, and i mean many...i saw the same on some other YT tests, thanks.
     
  8. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    944
    Location:
    india

    could you report it to avast forums directly?? does this happen with the network shield you mean?? if so then it can be a bug even I have seen it in YT reviews.

    if this is with web shield its common..these days browers like to bypass the block as explained earlier on avast forums...:argh:
     
  9. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    Put K9 Web Protection and you are good to go...
    ;)
     
  10. dazed1

    dazed1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    161
    I'm not active on Avast forums, i test on my personal rig, because i got MBAM pro as well, so i guess this is not noticed only by me, but if its browser fault then i guess nothing can be done? :(

    I didn't really notice if the network shiled was involved or it was the web filter, but i had like 4 files at desktop from like 20-25 files i tried to run/download, and this is third time, this happens from 3 tests i done with V8..

    BTW why do i don't get add the file to exclusion list, when threat is detected like on the screenshot? what setting is that?
     
  11. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    944
    Location:
    india

    Next time it happens see which shield it is...network shield or the web shield then report it to avast forums or feedback.avast.com as a bug:)
     
  12. dazed1

    dazed1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    161
    Will do, can you please tell me how come all have the option to exclude the detected file from scans, and i never have? :'(
     
  13. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    944
    Location:
    india
    you mean excluding a file from on-demand scan or from real time scanning?

    file shiled>>settings>>exclusions and that should work for the real time if it doesnt it is some sort of a issue ;)
     
  14. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    I'm running it with Comodo FW 5.12 version,D+ disabled.Everything's seems ok 'till now.When i block the browsers or other software in Comodo,they stay this way.This was my old issue with Avast and other FWs.
     
  15. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,051
    Im just going to stick with the entire comodo suite.Things are tidier that way.Not sure how comodo antivirus fares against the others.:cool:
     
  16. ZeroDay

    ZeroDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Posts:
    714
    Location:
    UK
    I was wondering the same. I'm not sure wether to try Avast! or stick with the full cis suite.
     
  17. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    944
    Location:
    india
    Dazed1,I just had the same issue with my own machine and somehow got it resolved by doing this:
    Disabled the shields until next system reboot and ran a repair and rebooted and now it works fine on my system tested with some url's :)

    found a thread on avast! forums:
    http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=116991.0

    reported to one of avast team members and also on feedback.avast.com
     
  18. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,797
    Why are we talking Comodo in an Avast thread? :doubt:
     
  19. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772
    For those using Avast with CFW, do you use both sandboxes, or disable one?
     
  20. ght1

    ght1 Guest

    Because there is nothing more to say about Avast 8. :D
     
  21. dazed1

    dazed1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    161

    Thanks! :thumb:
     
  22. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    118,775
    Location:
    Texas
    Thread is closed for major cleanup.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=180128

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.