avast! 7.0 released!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by RejZoR, Feb 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I think it doesn't auto-convert to a free version because that would be a problem if you use Professional version on corporate systems and forget to renew. It auto converts into free edition and then you violate the TOS. So i think it doesn't but i'd have to ask them to be sure.
     
  2. carat

    carat Guest

    Then you should really merge some of the many shields ... :doubt:
     
  3. Nebulus

    Nebulus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    European Union
  4. hrnayy

    hrnayy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Posts:
    23
    My system keep running 24*7*365 .. and now after upgrading to avast! 7.0, I am keep getting BSOD's.. Two BSOD's since last two days..

    On Sun 2/26/2012 7:32:14 AM GMT your computer crashed
    crash dump file: C:\Windows\Minidump\022612-18765-01.dmp
    This was probably caused by the following module: aswfsblk.sys (aswFsBlk+0x1A66)
    Bugcheck code: 0x1000008E (0xFFFFFFFFC0000005, 0xFFFFFFFF83738795, 0xFFFFFFFF9B394714, 0x0)
    Error: KERNEL_MODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED_M
    file path: C:\Windows\system32\drivers\aswfsblk.sys
    product: avast! Antivirus System
    company: AVAST Software
    description: avast! File System Access Blocking Driver
    Bug check description: This indicates that a kernel-mode program generated an exception which the error handler did not catch.
    This appears to be a typical software driver bug and is not likely to be caused by a hardware problem.
    A third party driver was identified as the probable root cause of this system error. It is suggested you look for an update for the following driver: aswfsblk.sys (avast! File System Access Blocking Driver, AVAST Software).
    Google query: aswfsblk.sys AVAST Software KERNEL_MODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED_M
     
  5. Get

    Get Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Posts:
    384
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Being sick of the issues Avast and my pc in general gave me I turned to AVG. That gave the word crawl a new definition and almost murdered my pc (XPSP3). I reanimated it, but the damage done is too big. Will put back a very old and hopefully good image and try avast again. Answers are no longer needed.
     
  6. tradetime

    tradetime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Location:
    UK
    Anyone else experience a screwed up upgrade? I upgraded from prior version of avast free to version 7 free last night and can't get rid of the screen that appears after the reboot.
    It says almost complete just click the finish button, and it tries to dump google chrome installation on you. This screen now appears on every boot up, driving me mad. System is XP SP3
     
  7. chabbo

    chabbo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    366
    Try reinstall Avast.
     
  8. clubhouse

    clubhouse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    180

    I was just reading about this on the Avast forum, this problem occurs when you update 'over' the previous version of Avast...the remedy is via a clean install....ie remove the old version and then install V7...I'm guessing you'll need to do this.
     
  9. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,131

    but one product cannot & IMHO should not be expected to keep everything out, you need a on demand protection along with your active av but I'm getting tired of all the products that try to do too much...old saying about Jack of all trades but Master of none, as I said keep it simple & products wouldn't be misbehaving, should go back to basics...I used avast pro years ago with look n stop & MBAM nothing got in but I wouldn't trust it today too many conflicts with other products, maybe vendors should work together?...
     
  10. tradetime

    tradetime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Location:
    UK

    Thanx for the replies, was hoping I was missing a simple step, but I guess uninstall it is.




    ......and indeed, that seems to have solved the problem, fortunately without any further issue.
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2012
  11. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    That's exactly why every vendor tries to do it all. avast! team knows what they are doing so that all modules are compatible. But if you combine things from 4 different vendors, chances of conflict are very high.
     
  12. nord1

    nord1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Posts:
    126
    Chuck57,

    Try WinAmp instead. On my XP PRO SP3 laptop with Avast 7 free (MalwareBytesPro and WinPatrol) that seems to work. Caveat: Something going on with Malwarebytes, but not sure yet. Have to do a dump to see.
     
  13. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,529
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Seems to run great on my 64bit Windows 7 box. My only complaint is that is seems to leave a keyboard driver behind after uninstall, which just might be related to my system.

    Driver.JPG
     
  14. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,801
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Good point. But converting to free version would be a great idea, AVG does that too. I think an agreement with TOS will do the needful.
     
  15. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    The cloud connection must show always established?I'm asking because sometimes is showing it's not,but the streaming updates and reputation are enabled.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Sometimes connection drops off. But avast! is then constantly trying to reconnect and when it can, it will reconnect. When load balances out things will improve. For now they could just estimate the server load, but now they actually see how it behaves in real world environment...
     
  17. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    So it's normal.Thank you.
     
  18. clubhouse

    clubhouse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    180

    I see that their has been 4 updates today 120226-4, I've been running V7 pro AV for 3 hours plus now and it seems the VPS has finally cleared the insane file scanning problem on XP....all is as it should be:)
     
  19. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    621

    Thanks for the confirmation.

    Vlk
     
  20. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,266
    Location:
    USA,IA

    Vlk can you tell me after the trial ends what happens?
     
  21. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,322
  22. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    that's true vasa...good i have vit registry fix,,,to get rid of google update and the other google.
    because these ones like to call home.
     
  23. guest

    guest Guest

    Loving the improved performance (like the reduced RAM usage). Webroot SecureAnywhere is still lighter, but Avast is almost there now.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 27, 2012
  24. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    916
    Location:
    Southern California
    Now have AIS on 5 computers.

    A couple of glitches but all is well.

    Very pleased.
     
  25. abu shofwan

    abu shofwan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Posts:
    358
    Location:
    Earth
    confirm here :thumb: Registration issue also fixed
    thank for quick FIX,VLK
    running smooth with Diskeeper & PL.

    I am happy to inform that I'm testing now (detection & prevention) :D
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2012
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.