avast! 7.0 public beta

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by RejZoR, Feb 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    avast! doesn't really want to go the BIG icons way. Normally, users don't even need to go into settings. Just install avast! and forget about it.

    Having two interfaces between you can switch will only confuse users even further. We've been at that point and it didn't work too well.
     
  2. ZeroDay

    ZeroDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Posts:
    714
    Location:
    UK
    Another programme update - 7.0.1401
     
  3. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Yes, BETA3 has been released. FileRep still not active though. Will be very soon...
     
  4. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,843
    Location:
    KEEP USA GREAT
    avast! 7.0.1401 BETA Released
    02.17.2012

    What's New:
    • New avast! Gadget
    • Fixed avast! Remote Assistance
    • Improved Helps & Localizations
    • Registration is working again
    • Account Settings page is functional
    Known Issues
    • FileRep is not turned on (should be turned on in 2-3 days)
    • Installers have issues when updating/upgrading
    • avast! account is not fully functional yet (be patient, it should be ready soon)
    • Some translations haven't been updated yet, so you'll see some new items in English

    How to install avast! 7
    Just run the setup executable
    This version can be installed on top of your existing avast installation (6.x).

    Download and Feedback: avast! BETA 7
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2012
  5. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Thanks for the update Hayc59.
     
  6. xandros

    xandros Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    thank you for update
    really i like avast i hope they will come back with good rating in detection
     
  7. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,440
    Location:
    Outer space
    Thanks, new gadget is way better, not so huge anymore :)
     
  8. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,287
    Location:
    USA,IA

    would you mind post a screenshot for us :)
     
  9. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    971
    Location:
    Southern California
    It's looking really good.

    Have beta3s on two computers.
     
  10. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    613
    Location:
    USA
    Link not working (at least not for me)! :doubt:
     
  11. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,053
    Location:
    USA
    So far I've been able to update the beta versions using the internal program updater - have you given that a try?
     
  12. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    613
    Location:
    USA
    I'm first trying to download the beta (don't yet have it)!
     
  13. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,252
    Location:
    North Texas
    Loaded last night...smooth so far!
     
  14. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,440
    Location:
    Outer space
    Here you go. Btw it's quite wider than normal gadgets, but that's less annoying if you put it in the upper corner for example.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,440
    Location:
    Outer space
    Direct links :)

    Free AV -http://files.avast.com/files/avast7beta/avast_free_antivirus_setup.exe-
    Pro AV -http://files.avast.com/files/avast7beta/avast_pro_antivirus_setup.exe-
    AIS -http://files.avast.com/files/avast7beta/avast_internet_security_setup.exe-
     
  16. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    613
    Location:
    USA
    Thank you!
     
  17. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,053
    Location:
    USA
    I've installed the Vista sidebar in XP so I can try the Avast gadget, but it's not showing in the list. Any suggestions?
     
  18. 3x0gR13N

    3x0gR13N Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    799
    XP doesn't officially support gadgets, thus any apps that "enable" gadgets on XP aren't supported by avast either, so it comes down to whether someone could send you the gadget's resources from Vista/7 as they're not even "installed"/placed in a folder on XP (AFAIK).
    Too much hassle for fluff if you ask me. :)
     
  19. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,053
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks, I wondered if the gadget might be in an Avast sub-folder.
     
  20. guest

    guest Guest

    Any performance improvement in this new Avast 7?
     
  21. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    It's hard to improve almost a perfect thing. There were severe improvements in the memory usage department but speed hasn't realyl changed much. It's still seriously quick.
     
  22. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,064
    does avast have a bootable rescue disc? and if so how is it obtained? and what OS does it use? example linux,winpe
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2012
  23. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    +1

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  24. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    621
  25. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,287
    Location:
    USA,IA
    @ vlk


    what does the avast account do in the UI? or really whats it for for that matter :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.