avast! 7.0 public beta

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by RejZoR, Feb 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,741
    Location:
    UK
    I don't use Avast, but even I know you can turn sounds off in the program settings. That would have been my first course of action. [Even if I didn't know this, I would have checked the settings first to see if there was a way to mute their sounds before uninstalling just because of this issue.]
     
  2. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,294

    ROFL :argh: Yeah,it's not hard to make a click,close avast,sounds are now gone!
     
  3. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    I think you Patriot fans missed the point, or joke....

    I know how to turn the sounds off my friends, and I will leave the rest of the moral of the story at that.
     
  4. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Whoa whoa. Hold on now. Don't be making patriots jokes. I've had enough of that this week.
     
  5. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Guest

    The only joke i got from ur post is that u always carry around ur favourite antivirus wherever u go

    and secondly u r saying avast has a lot of crap - avast doesnt have a single user , it has millions of users
    and its an antivirus not a browser where if u need an added functionality u juts add an extension
    it has all the features that a user might need and if some1 doesnt like any feature there are tons of settings option in avast to make it to ur liking
     
  6. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,285
    Location:
    USA,IA
    Avast 7 is slowing my browser and seems theres a conflict with sandboxie paid because IE9 just stops responding then come back.
     
  7. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    Streaming Update on Free version? This is Awesome!

    Have they improved on Memory and CPU resources?

    P.S - Anyone using it on Windows 8 DP?
     
  8. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,252
    Location:
    North Texas
    Apparently they were over the loss about 2 hours later...a la party city! You still have the Bruins!:D
     
  9. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,764

    Memory may be a bit higher. Seems to run 20-35 meg for me, rarely going higher or lower than that. CPU use is pretty light.
     
  10. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Had a blue screen on win7 x32 ultimate with geswall free and priviledge manager on my play image. Installed fine, but after re-start it went down. I like the new GUI better, by the way did not hear any voices while asleep. Returned to safe-admin image again (was just curious whether cloud updates would reduce 400 MB or so I/O at startup).

    Full featured AV for free, what do want more?
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2012
  11. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,413
    Location:
    Outer space
    Looks interesting :)
    Haven't seen anything about the file reputation yet, it says it's enabled beneath the summary tab, but there seems to be no way to retrieve a file's reputation.

    And what exactly does the compatible install do?
     
  12. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Was that a rhetorical question? :p Anyway, it's not just about what's in the AV; it's also about what's in the AV does. ;)

    Who cares about smoke and mirrors? It's all about efficiency. If it is, then that's great, if it's not, then it's not so great, despite having this or that function. :)
     
  13. adrenaline7

    adrenaline7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Posts:
    128
    If someone can't understand how to use Avast maybe they are too dumb to understand how to use a computer.

    Its so weird seeing a guy with over 8k posts on a security forum complain that a simple program has too many options. I will just never understand, to me it couldn't be simpler.
     
  14. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Trjam is more than capable of understanding and using avast. He was commenting on having it on a friends computer and how they couldn't handle it. I believe, correct me if I'm wrong, he was looking for simplicity for the sake of someone that maybe couldn't handle a lot of options.
    It's also very odd that someone with 32 posts would be so brash, to comment on a long standing member on this forum.
     
  15. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Guest

    i dont understand why som1 with less posts cant comment on sum1 with more posts
    and eset has more complicated options den avast afaik
     
  16. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,764
    I find this program doubles my pings.

    Without Avast - 16ms
    With Avast - 32ms
     
  17. gnervt

    gnervt Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    56
    Location:
    Germany
    Be aware! There's a not yet reported bug in V7 with unicode file names in windows 7 (ntfs). eg. japanese or chinese file names are displayed crippled in windows explorer. After deinstalling V7 everything is fine again.
     
  18. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,473
    Location:
    Paris

    You make an excellent point. It is actually very sad that any Security firm will put in the time and resources nesessary to add trivial functionality without any apparent incease in product efectveness.

    If I want pretty I'll buy the earings I saw the other day.
     
  19. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,467
    actually it has.

    guys - i cant tell you what setup my avast 6 had - in fact 6.0 was amazing
    fast but with each update and finally 6.1 it got slower and slower. read all
    the postings to avast 6 and mine wont be the only one. my startup went
    up from 80 sec to 140/160 sec (whats close to 2 and a half minute).

    unfortunately my event log stops in march 2011 o_O but it logged that avast
    slow down up to 10 seconds and online armor (also no logner used) slowed
    down same usage period for more than 15 seconds at system startup.
    my average system startup jumped from 75 to 100 from the 13/oct/2010.
    more spikes after feb/2011 when v6 was released, end in march/2011 so
    updates and v6.1 werent logged.

    go to event viewer > applications and services > microsoft > diagnotics performance > Operational
    "Microsoft-Windows-Diagnostics-Performance/Operational"
    and filter for id 100 for complete time and id 101 for processes which slow down.
     
  20. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,570
    I personally like avasts features and gui,although im not using it at the moment (using NIS which would probably give you a heart attack if you just like big green ticks).I dont like over simplified GUI ,which usually ends up harder to find settings.I think avast is probably the best looking av out there at present.No disrespect intended but its not that hard to actually find sound settings in avast.
     
  21. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,570
    Theres nothing wrong with having both .Personally I think the new gui is probably the best ive seen.Of course that has nothing to do with detection,but im sure they are working on that too....even though the current detection is quite acceptable imo.
     
  22. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    There is no such thing as avast! 6.1
     
  23. carat

    carat Guest

    It's the best looking av and it has more shields than any other av but it's protection should be better :doubt:
     
  24. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,570
    As far as i know ,there isnt an av available that has 100% detection so i guess every av strives to be better in protection.Even in its current incarnation ,its as good as many and better than most.
     
  25. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    look, it was just my thoughts and you also saw where I said it is one of two AVs that I would even use. Well maybe number 3 is starting to prove itself in my avatar.

    I did so quite a bit of testing last night with MSE beta, Eset, Ikarus and Avast beta. I wont comment on the others, but Avast came very close to catching, one way or the other, every link I put in.

    So, I would say detection may actually be better in this version. It of course needs a pro to test it.

    So now, can we all live in peace.;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.