Avast 5 RELEASED

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Fajo, Jan 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
    Or Vipers Database might not be as vast as the competitions. Remember we still have yet to see Viper in any real detection test. Maybe this is why ?
     
  2. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    It's obviously not as vast! If you look my screenshot, and google a bit, you get pretty much an idea of how old they are.

    ex. DOS Jerusalem . From 1987!
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jerusalem_(computer_virus)

    I too agree, that Vipre's detection needs improving. The fact alone that it updates really about once a day is showing a weakness in reaction time. But that's way too old sampleset.
     
  3. mevcit

    mevcit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    İstanbul, T?rkiye
    I used those samples to differentiate the detection numbers of v4.8 and v5 with same definition updates. I already know that they are so old.

    dicksmith stated his test results with recent malware samples (according to him). And i wanted to see whether or not the case is same using some old samples. And as i expected, v4.8 did better again.

    add: most of the major antiviruses still detect those. i do not mean they should still be detected.
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2010
  4. apm

    apm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Posts:
    162
    Is the Avast 5 Real time anti-rootkit protection apply to x64 e.g. win7 x64, there is no rootkit setting at the program.
     
  5. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857

    No I think rootkit protection is achieved by
    - including fingerprints in the blacklist (on execute, on write check of file shield)
    - boot scanner
    - behavioral shield

    So for x64 the you problablt have the first two, since on x64 I have not seen any activity of teh behavioral shield
     
  6. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    610
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    anyone ever get behavioral shield warning o_O what kind of behaviour triggers it ?
     
  7. progress

    progress Guest

    That's a really interesting question!! :doubt:
     
  8. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    been asking the same question myself...
     
  9. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1iVWKQpzfjo
    :rolleyes: What can i say??
     
  10. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    839
    it's nice...must concede that

    what to do if you lose reg code?

    I had registered using my email address in november and I can't find it...
     
  11. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,610
    Location:
    Deep Into The Blues Baby..
    E-mail address for license key delivery
    http://www.avast.com/registration-free-antivirus.php
     
  12. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    839
    and if I use the same address?

    OKEY, just delivered, thanks

    edit:
    just found sth that tells me is the right link for the future losses:
    h t t p://www.avast.com/resend-license-free-antivirus.php
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2010
  13. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,236
    Location:
    Outer space
    If it's the free version, just register from the GUI, or get a new license.
     
  14. progress

    progress Guest

    @vlk

    I think we need advice :rolleyes:
     
  15. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Canada
    Are you using a 64-bit OS? If so, Behavior Shield is not operational. That is my understanding for 64-bit currently.
     
  16. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,710
    The BS does not seem to do anything on 32bit either.
     
  17. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Canada
    Did you check out the Avast forum? Maybe post over there. They still have a beta sub forum. I was pretty sure that the BS was up and running on 32-bit last time I checked over there.
     
  18. dcrowe0050

    dcrowe0050 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Posts:
    378
    Location:
    NC


    A warning from the behavior shield would be triggered by suspicious activity in the file system that the file system shield or network shield could not identify for certain as a known threat. It will not however warn you that you have an infection in stead it tells you that there is some funny business going on and requests you upload the file or files that triggered the alarm to avast to be further analyzed, thus providing them with new threats daily.

    But i have only seen like a dozen or so forum posts related to people getting warnings from their behavior shield. My advice is not to worry about it because it is a very new AV and particular this module is brand new and admittedly needs a lot of work, which will come soon. They say that for the first few months since the release they are going to be sending out updates more frequently to get everything worked out. vlk is very active on their forum and is one of the developers at avast, he is a very patient guy who will be happy to answer your questions and help you in any way possible, so you might get better advice if you go there.

    Good Luck, hope everything works out
     
  19. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
    I think people are getting the Behavior shield mixed up with something like Comodo's Hip's. You guys are expecting to see warnings when you move the mouse. It a stream line shield that is made to help the system hardness. Not pop up a warning every time you click the mouse to fast.
     
  20. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    wondering the same thing and how light is the new avast? how well does it run and what kind of resources are used? etc... thanks
     
  21. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,710
    Actually no, I'm not. I was thinking it was going to be similar to Threatfire.
     
  22. dcrowe0050

    dcrowe0050 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Posts:
    378
    Location:
    NC
    The main function of the behavior shield is to pick up on possible new threats and give you the option to send them to avast. Avast did this so they would have a constant stream of new threats straight from their users in hopes they would pick up on some a little faster than they used too. On my computer it is light, right now it is using about 50 mb and I have not experienced any problems. I know there are some problems with it on XP and Vista that are being worked on but it works great for me.

    And it is in no way like Threatfire
     
  23. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i of course as my avatar is am a norton user currently, i am now again trialing ess newest version and actually like it this time. i had a ton of issues last time with it. computer feels a tiny bit better than with nis2010 but its hardly noticeable. some things faster others not. but i used to like avast a lot and am considering giving this one a go also now on my other test machine.

    how does it integrate itself into windows. i hate some programs that put themselves everywhere and run a million procc's and add themselves to all the menu's and etc in windows. i like stuff out of the way and not noticable until it has to be. i also tried panda again and while it was a huge improvement over their old one that is what i saw. things added to control panel and a million procc's etc. not a bad program overall though compared to its older versions.

    not at all looking for a vs b just wondering overall how the internet security version is in terms on things as stated above. please no need to compare it.
     
  24. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Are you not tired to give us the same link about that video??It seems you're the only one with the update problems.Uninstall and move on.o_O
     
  25. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814

    Try it for your self is the easiest way. But on the other hand there is more then ENOUGH information in this thread alone for you to draw your own conclusion.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.