Avast! 5 beta 1

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Az7, Aug 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I think I recall reading they are shooting for late January, right? :)
     
  2. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
    I hope so. The program has been stable for MOST people for along time. Tho they seem to be having issues with IS which might need to stay in beta longer. I could go as far as to say the IS is what is keeping the rest in beta.
     
  3. Rain_Train

    Rain_Train Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    142
    Correct. ;)
     
  4. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    839
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Had MSE which I uninstalled using Revo leaving WP Plus.

    Tried Avast Free and upon re-booting got BSOD after XP log-on password. Couldn't believe it, removed and re-installed and got BSOD again when logging on.

    Every other time I have used Avast it has been easy to install, set-up and remove. Plus, I find the Avast forum the nicest product forum.

    I'm gutted and need a cup of tea to recover from the shock.
    Ian
     
  5. dcrowe0050

    dcrowe0050 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Posts:
    378
    Location:
    NC
    since when has Avast started bundling their installer with chrome toolbar. it may have been chrome browser but i didn't really pay attention. i can't remember if they did this in 4.8
     
  6. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    621
  7. dcrowe0050

    dcrowe0050 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Posts:
    378
    Location:
    NC
    i had been updating from the program until i uninstalled last week. I was just wandering if they had been doing this all along.
    Thanks vlk
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2010
  8. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,506
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California
    In case no one has seen this yet. I'm running the free Avast 5. I just opened the GUI and saw there was a program update available. I now have built 5.0.366. It required a restart.
     
  9. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    yep, ther is
     
  10. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    beta update: 5.0.373
     
  11. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    839
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Tried this one and same problem as before - BSOD after logon.

    I'll wait a few months and then try again.

    Something has happened as before I found Avast to be stable.
    Ian
     
  12. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
  13. dcrowe0050

    dcrowe0050 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Posts:
    378
    Location:
    NC
  14. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I can hardly contain myself!!!! Its the best day ever!
     
  15. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
    Installed and running great along side Prevx.
     
  16. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    HOORAY! :D :D :D :D :D
     
  17. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 19, 2010
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.