Avast! 5 beta 1

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Az7, Aug 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Day ! Peace and Love to all Wilderites and their families. Merry Xmas and Happy Holidays ! Regarding the Avast 5 (Beta 3) Beta. I didn't think that a registration key was even needed for the Beta version. I was given a Key for Avast 4, and when trying to register with the key, surprise...wasn't accepted. The only sense I can make of this is I suspect the release candidate is just round the corner and the registration component was prematurely released ! Sincerely...Securon
     
  2. rolarocka

    rolarocka Guest

    The registration process needs to be beta tested too although its not working.
     
  3. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Soon Come ! That's correct, but as stated this is the first time i've encountered this registration as part of the beta process. And correct me I believe the Beta versions have been available for close to two months now. Sincerely...Securon
     
  4. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Other than the little registration snag this program has been running spot-on so far on my Laptop...:cool:
     
  5. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,589
    Location:
    Mumbai
    On what type of avast where you trying to install the key? I don't think avast pro key will work with AIS(correct me if I am wrong:) )
     
  6. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,292
    Location:
    USA,IA

    this is a beta i wouldnt be putting your key in just yet waite until it goes final or until they say it ok to. just keeep your code in a safe place then use it when its all ready to go. ie out of beta.
     
  7. Phenom

    Phenom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    United States
    I'll wait for official release of Avast! 5.
     
  8. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,161
    Location:
    UK / Pakistan
    I tried the beahv shield on Win 7 along with TF. Tried some malware domain list URLS but failed to get any pop up out of it.
     
  9. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    because its still not completely implemented yet as far as i know.
     
  10. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,589
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Yeah its not completed implemented but I saw some behavior brewing in the behavior section when I tested against malware recently.:)
     
  11. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    ye ive heard about that and have no clue why it gives a little jump on the graph every so often when doing things, but its blocking and protecting ability is def not ther yet.
     
  12. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,589
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Yeah right I have never seen the pop-up saying that avast's behavior shield has blocked some malicious application execution:cautious:
     
  13. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    You're not suppose to when executing regular applications...
     
  14. firehands13

    firehands13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Posts:
    26
    I'm sure the behavioral shield will become more active in the future builds once all the rules and parameters become more defined.
     
  15. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,589
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Yeah they will be integrating BS don't know whether directly in their final version or will have another BETA refresh.:doubt:
     
  16. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,113
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Had to do a clean install of Avast 5 today and the registration worked from within the GUI.

    dja2k
     

    Attached Files:

  17. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    so your license is good for a year. That aint bad. Kudos Avast.;)
     
  18. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,589
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Good to see that the registration is now working. Good work avast:thumb:
     
  19. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Noticed today that both update and registration worked on the free AV on XP
     
  20. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    What is 5.0.326 like?
     
  21. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    its good, just made everything work smoother and fixed a lot of bugs.

     
  22. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,589
    Location:
    Mumbai
    They have released a new version of avast 5.0.332.

    Its been quite sometime for this version release but no one has posted so I posted:)
     
  23. PC__Gamer

    PC__Gamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    526
    mightly impressed with avast 5 beta btw,

    although i will probably stay with what i have and be happy about it, im still impressed. :p
     
  24. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,292
    Location:
    USA,IA

    i agree, the fact that they add the scheduled tasks and the behav. shield makes avast the best free AV right now.
     
  25. progress

    progress Guest

    I agree but did avast learn from the FP disaster? Can this happen again? :doubt:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.