Avast! 4.8 released

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Malcontent, Mar 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. XANA

    XANA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    I use Windows XP Pro SP3 and Avast4.8 works great here!
    No problemes updating at all or anything.


    X.A.N.A.
     
  2. SecOmnius

    SecOmnius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Posts:
    70
    Location:
    In the Light of PARTHENON
    Avast! 4.8

    Running Avast 4.8 Professional under Win XP SP2:
    Up to now, No problems for me, too! :thumb:
     
  3. Firebytes

    Firebytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    916
    The minor problem with the skins selection window hanging appears to be a problem between Avast and Threatfire. When TF is suspended the problem goes away.
     
  4. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    Firebytes, just posted to the Avast forum, I use TF (free) default settings, and having no problems.
     
  5. Firebytes

    Firebytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    916
    Hmmm, I don't know then if it isn't TF related. It cleared up for me while TF was disabled (I do have default TF settings and Avast free). I will try it again next time I reboot and turn off Returnil protection and see if possibly it happens with TF because Returnil was also on when I noticed the problem. o_O



    edit: I will see what I can figure out when I have time on Tuesday but its such a minor issue anyway, even if I never figure it out I won't be to worried.
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2008
  6. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    8,005
    Running it here today and must say this is one fine program now.. no issues at all, and the web scanner has to be the fastest I've seen, there is just zero slowdown, pretty impressive.
     
  7. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Maybe someone could update the screenshots sticky?
     
  8. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    Just installed and it runs just great, no slowdowns at all. My compliments. Have been experiencing a lot of trouble with some 'big' names recently and this is the way it should work! Perfect! :thumb:
     
  9. SystemJunkie

    SystemJunkie Resident Conspiracy Theorist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Posts:
    1,500
    Location:
    Germany
    just installed avast 4.8, preboot scan.. good idea.. I agree no slow downs, very nice.
    Avast is not for away from nr.1 except Avira there is no other scanner as good actually.
    Turn some years back you´d never have thought that they would ever become top of the notch, really incredible.
    Who knows their secret? :D:D:D??!
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2008
  10. 337

    337 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Posts:
    232
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    I was reading about their features and one of them was it acts as a light weight firewall/I.D.S.? Any idea when this feature will be available in Vista? :thumb:
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2008
  11. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,131
    very impressive software, light & quick load, looks good...
     
  12. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    What a relief, compared to starting with Avg8 and Eset Antivirus 3.0 after their release. ;)
     
  13. kalpik

    kalpik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    I had a minor disk thrashing issue with v4.7 when burning large files to DVD on Vista x64. Is anyone facing any such issue with v4.8?
     
  14. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,131

    extremely refreshing to have someone release a mature produce that from the most recent AV-comparative shows that they care about getting it right & with v4.8 they are taking it to a higher level. Maybe some of the high priced av's should step back & take a lesson from Avast, good job Avast!
     
  15. XANA

    XANA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    How would you know if the new AS builtin into the AV Standard Shield is actually on and working?

    And what about the definitions?
     
  16. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    Basically it's nothing new. Their engine/database was capable of detecting spy/adware for a long time already. Only they got certified as an "official" AS in december last year.
     
  17. Code_Blue

    Code_Blue Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Posts:
    23
    I have been using Avast! for a few months now and like it. I just updated the program to 4.8 and noticed that Sandboxie does not load. It says there are errors but it will not show the errors when I select that command. I assume it is the new 4.8 as it is the only change I have made. Anyone else experience this?

    Vista 32, Toshiba laptop, Threatfire, PC Tolls firewall also running.
     
  18. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    I updated to Avast 4.8 and Sandboxie works fine. What version of Sandboxie are you using?
     
  19. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,064
    lets hope alwil can make the interface better.
    the important part of making the engine better is done for now so why not work on the interface?
     
  20. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    621
    In order to use Sandoxie with avast 4.8, you need to make sure to use the latest version of Sandboxie.

    There have been some fixes specifically designed to ensure the compatibility with avast 4.8.


    Thanks
    Vlk
     
  21. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    Now the program is very good......time to start moaning about the interface again? Man......it works like a charm, the interface is as clear as it can be!
     
  22. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,570
    I also hate it when av vendors decide to glam up the interface.It usually means slowdowns when opening the gui ,on lower spec machines.First antivir did it with version 7 ,then avg,then nod.I hope avast sticks to the simple and functional instead of the hog and gory.
    ellison
     
  23. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    I like the interface. Plenty of alternative skins available for those that want a different look. The controls/layout are not difficult to work out. The program works very well.
    I'd prefer it to be left pretty much as it is.
     
  24. zopzop

    zopzop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Posts:
    642
    anyone know how this works with a limited user account? i currently have avira and it works flawlessly in LUA, i can even update the antivirus signatures from my LUA.
     
  25. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    621
    And yet, the user interface will substantially change in avast version 5.

    The current interface was designed back in 2002 and we feel it'd certainly need a "facelift". Plus, there are multiple distinct interfaces in the current version of avast, and we'd like them to be united.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.