Avast 4.5 and slow laptop

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by 45 dots, Oct 27, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 45 dots

    45 dots Guest

    Have heard good things about this software for a long time and according to this thread

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=52016

    I like the Avast's skinless GUI and its new features so I would like to replace my old NOD32 (subscription expired) but I want opinions of experienced Avast's users is, will Avast 4.5 heavily slow down my slow laptop (M-Pentium 1.3 GHz, 256 of RAM, Windows XP Pro SP1) or does it take to much CPU to scan?

    Thanks
     
  2. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    Avast 4.5 is still in BETA testing, so there are some bugs which are not fixed yet, so i don't recommend using it yet.
    I recommend that you download the latest avast version 4.1
    avast! Home Edition is now free of charge for HOME users for NON-COMMERCIAL use.
    Download avast latest version 4.1 Home Edition here:
    http://files.avast.com/iavs4pro/setupeng.exe

    BTW, have you installed Windows XP SP2 yet?
     
  3. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I'm using the new beta version of avast! Home Edition on my laptop, and it runs very well.

    I'm starting to love this AV. avast! isn't a resources hog, very configurable, very good protection and it's free!!! ;)

    Try it...
     
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Well depends on where does it slow down your laptop. On-Demand scan kills almost every PC no matter which AV you use. On-Access is something else.
    And i doubt it killed performance that much. It must be a software conflict.
     
  5. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    45 dots,

    did you completely disable the NOD32 protection, or uninstall it?
     
  6. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Well for avast! 4.1 i can confirm that it can happily run together with NOD32.
    Not sure for 4.5...
     
  7. Technical

    Technical Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    Brazil
    No troubles with 4.5 version.
    It's being released the corrections (few because 4.5 is very stable) very quickly and all related to minor features of the antivirus.
    Version 4.5 has a lot of advantages even in beta version.
    No regrets :cool:
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2004
  8. kloshar

    kloshar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Posts:
    279
    Location:
    Europe, Slovenia, Bre?ice
    F-prot can run with NOD32, too!
     
  9. radicalb21

    radicalb21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Posts:
    164
    Location:
    USA
    It's radicalb21. I'm currently running avast! antivirus 4.5 which is still in BETA at the present time. The final version should be out next week sometime. I have not run into any problems as of yet. The current build as of today is 4.5.498. I hope this helps. I'm running it on both my laptop and desktop with no problems at all in reference to performance.
     
  10. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    Hey radicalb21,
    will the final release be an update or will avast beta users have to download a whole new copy of 4.5, when the final is out?
     
  11. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    I think users will have to uninstall the BETA and install the FINAL.
     
  12. radicalb21

    radicalb21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Posts:
    164
    Location:
    USA
    Hey Namor,
    To answer your question from testing other BETA's for avast! antivirus it should be a seamless integration when the final is released next week. It should be just as easy for the beta tester as it is for the regular users of avast! antivirus. But if you want you can uninstall the old one. Then restart your system. Then when you get to the desktop go to my computer and search for the Alwil Software folder and delete it. Then restart your system again. I hope this helps.
     
  13. Technical

    Technical Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    Brazil
    No, this is not how avast works.
    The final version is just one more program update over the beta. The update procedures is avast are completely automatic, incremental and easy. :cool:

    It's not necessary to uninstall.
    The servers.def file will do the job :D
     
  14. MetSha

    MetSha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Posts:
    4
    at the same time?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.