avast! 2016

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Tyrizian, Nov 4, 2015.

  1. guest

    guest Guest

    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 25, 2016
  2. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,084
    Location:
    USA
    I noticed a reference to this yesterday when I updated Avast for a customer. It will be interesting to see how these new technologies perform. Thanks for the links.
     
  3. entropism

    entropism Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    475
    So Nitro/CyberCapture is basically Avast meets Webroot meets HIPS?
     
  4. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    568
    Location:
    Belgium
    Unknown files will be analysed in the cloud like Avira, Eset, Kaspersky ;)
     
  5. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,359
    I assume it's another tool with no effect on detection rates. :blink:
     
  6. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,545
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I think Avast need to prioritise getting its AV to work properly first without any new bloat or gimmicks.
     
  7. guest

    guest Guest

    The new version doesn't have any bloat. I think you need to try it first
     
  8. guest

    guest Guest

    Actually is the tool of detection rates...
     
  9. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772
    I'm anxious to see how this new version is improved in both detection and resource usage.
     
  10. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,545
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I uninstalled Avast Free on 23/6/16 after it upgraded itself and every time I opened Paint.NET I got a missing api-ms-win-core-timezone-l1-1-0.dll message. This was ameliorated by a system restore and I finally decided Avast had to go. I double checked to see if Avast was the culprit by upgrading it again and the missing api-ms-win-core-timezone-l1-1-0.dll message returned until another restore was performed. Ever since the previous last upgrade I was getting freezes on some retail sites with a lot of flash content. When I deactivated Avast the problem went. So Avast was the cause of the problem there too.

    I had a custom minimal install of Avast, I didn't even dislike the SafeZone Browser. But Avast seems to be going downhill at an ever increasing rate, and Avast Free has always been full of bloatware. The great thing about Avast was that you could easily deselect the bloat with the modular custom install.

    I eventually went back to Panda Free, not because of its overall better detection rate, but because it just does its job and doesn't bug me. It also has very little bloat. I'm disappointed in Avast.
     
  11. LagerX

    LagerX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Posts:
    565
    New beta released
    https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=188824.0
     
  12. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,361
    Location:
    Germany
  13. guest

    guest Guest

    For the people who is active in avast forums, have they published any statistics about cybercapture (how is working, how many files is processing...?) or the nitro update?
    I have seen that they have removed all the statistics from the nitro update.
     
  14. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,361
    Location:
    Germany
  15. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,361
    Location:
    Germany
  16. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772

    Do not install this! Major issues with this release. Their forums are filled with people having trouble.
     
  17. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,545
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    No surprise there!
     
  18. ky331

    ky331 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    157
    In an attempt to fix an issue --- that the user interface was randomly opening up on its own --- avast issued an [emergency] update. However, it appears that this update made things significantly worse --- the avast interface no longer recognizes its own services and database :mad: There are now MANY dissatisfied users bombarding the avast forum to complain.

    I'm not 100% certain of this... but based on what I've read in the forum --- and just now confirmed on one of my computers --- it appears the buggy update is version 12.2.2276 - build 12.2.3126.2 ; the final digit, 2, distinguishes this update from earlier (good) ones.

    For more information, see the ongoing discussions: You are unprotected! Avast Background service is not running:

    https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=189221.0

    https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=189195.0
     
  19. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772
    How the heck does this slip through testing?!?!?!
     
  20. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    621
    The digital signature of the UI process executable (AvastUI.exe)became corrupted during the release process, causing the self-defense driver to block the communication pipe with the service.

    In essence, it was just a UI problem (the protection service wasn't affected at all), but a very visible one.

    Thanks,
    Vlk
     
  21. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,373
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Is the new Avast now completely cloud based and is it really light on resources? And how big is the download? I really hate online installers.
     
  22. guest

    guest Guest

    It's light and cloud based, during installation you can choose which modules do you want, so after you install it you only have what you want.

    Probably you only need file and web shield.

    https://en.community.dell.com/cfs-f...ns-components-files/3522/Avast-components.png
     
  23. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,373
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks, looks interesting. I'm not really into cloud based AV's, but if it's really light on resources I might check it out. And what about the running processes and services? I really hate it when AV's are using a lot, that's one of the reasons why I refuse to install Avira.
     
  24. guest

    guest Guest

    I don't know but take a look to the performance test http://www.av-comparatives.org/performance-tests/
     
  25. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772
    I'm curious to see if this Nitro stuff improves Avast lightness. I hope so, as I mostly like the program.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.