avast! 2016

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Tyrizian, Nov 4, 2015.

  1. robboman

    robboman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    holland
    I have this weird problem with avast, free version. All settings stock, only file shield installed.

    When downloading and opening eicar test file avast does not show any message/warning. When right clicking to do a on demand scan it detects it's immediately. Apparently real time protection does not detect anything. What the hell can cause this? Any recommendations? I already did a reinstall and it did not fix is.

    I dunno how I can fix this..

    Edit: weird 5 minutes after executing eicar.exe avast finally pop-ups with a message saying it deleted it. So massive delay between executing and responding it seems.
     
  2. Sm3K3R

    Sm3K3R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    598
    Location:
    Wallachia
    Keep in mind some previous version (2015 or whatever it was called - one of the orange versions) did not even "seen" the eicar test files as anything , at least by default , so the actual 2016 can be considered ok into this aspect :)
    So keep kalm , the AV is ok :)
     
  3. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Germany
  4. robboman

    robboman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    holland
    In the end the problem was not related to Avast. The whole windows installation was corrupt and caused a lot of problems. Clean install and everything is fine.

    Avast is really a superb AV in a lot of criteria.

    Basically on my sister, grandma, and grandfather I have Avast installed. Custom install with file shield + web shield only, all other stuff deselected.
    Then enable detecting PUP's, and enable aggressive mode. Configured that Avast takes care of malicious files be itself, no user interacting required.

    Basically it works perfectly. Threats get detected and auto quarantined. Files that are not on the white-list can't be executed. There white-list is very extensive, after months I have not had 1 call from them like 'hey I can't open this or that" big white-list. I combine this with Malwarebytes anti-exploit, + firefox with ublock filtering adds and malicious domains. After months of them running this setup they have never encountered a problem or needed assistance. It just great, they all run win10 and like this they are pretty much bullet proof. Almost no adds either I heard from them. And a big plus for Avast is also how light weight it is.

    Love Avast basically
     
  5. 59er

    59er Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Posts:
    46
    Location:
    Oregon
    @robboman Did Avast's Safezone browser install on any of computers you take care of? It came with the latest security updates. My system warned me (Winpatrol and OA Firewall) , but I've read on the Avast forums people were finding the Safezone shortcut on their desktops.
    I tried it for a couple of days and then removed it via Avast repair /modify.
    Kind of sneaky if you ask me. A simple pop-up asking "Would you like to try our Safezone Browser' would have been more appropriate. Cheers!
     
  6. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,380
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I got SafeZone as well. I took my computer out of sleep, made a cup of tea, went back to the desktop to find a new browser installed. :eek:
     
  7. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,977
    That scared me so much that I uninstalled Avast and went back to MSE. Lol...
     
  8. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,380
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I tried it for a bit. It's based on Opera/Blink. I uninstalled it to see if it was easy to do. Then found that there was no provision to reinstall it doh! I don't know why they've tried to push this browser, market research I guess.
     
  9. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,977
    Haha, yeah, I don't know either. I was not too fond with the whole thing at all, it reminded me of how MS is pushing W10 on people. Too aggressive for me.
     
  10. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,380
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yeah, it freaked a lot of people out. I really don't understand why they didn't expect the backlash. Why not simply tell users that it is available to install now for Avast Free:

    'Pop up' ~ Do You Wish to Install SafeZone Browser: Yes/No/Later?

    Thus preventing the brown stuff hitting the ventilation system on the Avast! forums. lol
     
  11. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,977
    Yeah, exactly! There's nothing like giving people a choice, right? :)

    I was using a very mininal Avast install anyway, just file shield and nothing else, because I don't like all the other stuff they've been offering for a long time. Don't need it. Just the basics.
     
  12. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,380
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Maybe they thought it would be a nice surprise Easter present? lol

    My Avast! install is super minimal as well; just the file shield.
     
  13. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,977
    Haha, I bet they just got their idea of being pushy from Microsoft...
     
  14. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,380
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I dunno, they've been doing odd things for a while from what I can tell.
     
  15. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,977
    True, I remember when I first used Avast way back, maybe in 2004/5/6, somewhere in there, and it was a good product with no extra junk. I don't know what happened, but when they started bundling all the non-essential extra stuff, I wasn't too happy with that.
     
  16. chabbo

    chabbo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    367
    Hi everyone,

    It is my pleasure to inform you that SafeZone Browser is now available for all Avast users. It has been one of the key features of the premium (paid) versions of Avast for many years, and we've now made it available to our free users as well.
     
  17. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,977
    "available".... that's one way to spin it I guess... :)
     
  18. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,380
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    At least the bundles can be checked off on a custom install. Which is something.
     
  19. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,380
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Available as long as you don't attempt to deselect it on a custom install. ;)
     
  20. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Germany
  21. khagaroth

    khagaroth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Posts:
    25
    It's money as always, they went from developer owned -> investor owned and that never ends well. As a bonus they also got a new CEO who was previously heading Symantec and that probably didn't help either.
     
  22. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,253
    Location:
    North Texas
    The return of the trolls. The latest Avast free happens to run quite well...nice password manager and SafeZone seems to be smooth...some people have to do business online and that feature helps. Just my opinion but nice that it's free.
     
  23. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    958
    Is Safezone included free with Avast free.
     
  24. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    559
    Location:
    Belgium
    Yes safezone is in avast free.
    But if you don't want it you can delete it.
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2016
  25. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    Investor owned but not publicly. Avast is essentially owned by two private equity firms. Summit Partners and CVC capital. Remember when you could turn ads off in avast free? Not anymore. Things started to change once the two firms obtained majority ownership. I'm not saying it's wrong but the whole idea of private equity is to create a profitable firm and then sell it.

    http://www.cvc.com/Our-Portfolio.htmx?ordertype=0&itemid=10391414043001
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2016
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.