avast! 2016

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Tyrizian, Nov 4, 2015.

  1. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Germany
  2. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    2,706
    @Mops21
    thanks. do you know when it'll come outta beta?
     
  3. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Germany
    No, but I think soon

    With best Regards
    Mops21
     
  4. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    2,706
  5. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,354
    I prefer the 2015 GUI with all the details, as already mentioned: Ignore/whitelist function would be great.

    Every time avast introduces a new version we get another useless module, with version 2016 it is the password maker. :thumbd:

    I recommended avast for years but this version doesn't impress me much with all the ad popups.

    Edit: And please remove the licence renewal finally.
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2015
  6. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,365
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I just uninstalled the password module after the upgrade to 2016. I haven't seen an ad pop-up since the upgrade, even then they were only about once every two days.
     
  7. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,590
  8. wildman

    wildman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,182
    Location:
    Home on the range.
    Okay the Orange ball on the task bar does not fully work. Trying to make a post on the Avast Forum is a royal pain in the rear for anyone with any sort of vision problems. The requirement to use those stupid letter etc. is enough to tick one royally off. After three complete reinstalls I said bye bye Avast and downloaded Avaira Free. Hope someone from Avast reads this.

    Always,
    Wildman
     
  9. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    674
    Captcha is there to prevent spammers. If I remember correctly, it goes away after 3 posts. Regardless, it's still a pain in the rear and hard to see.

    What do you mean by, "the Orange ball on the task bar does not fully work."? What is not working?
     
  10. wildman

    wildman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,182
    Location:
    Home on the range.
    "What do you mean by, "the Orange ball on the task bar does not fully work."? What is not working?"

    Simple click right or click left and not a dang thing happens or displays.
     
  11. schmidthouse

    schmidthouse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    Sunny Okanagan Valley Canada
    Have you done/tried a "Repair" of your Avast installation?
    REPAIR and RESET Avast Installation https://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB204
     
  12. wildman

    wildman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,182
    Location:
    Home on the range.
    Did three complete reinstalls and not a one of them corrected the problem. I also used Revo to uninstall all of Avast each time. I even went and deleted the Avast folder after Revo had done it's thing. Nope now using Avira Free.

    Always,
    Wildman
     
  13. rm22

    rm22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Posts:
    355
    Location:
    Canada
    I finally updated to V2016 yesterday - it went fine, but the sound settings were all set back to default. I couldn't find any other settings that were changed - anyone else notice this or any other settings that were changed that i should double check?
     
  14. wildman

    wildman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,182
    Location:
    Home on the range.
    I had a heck of a time getting all of Avast off my machine, even using their uninstaler did not work as it told me I had Avira already installed. I had used Revo to uninstall Avast and I had used the strongest option. I now have Avira (Free). I wish these companies would do a better job of testing before they make the program available.

    Always,
    Wildman
     
  15. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    558
    Location:
    Belgium
    It seems that avast is very difficult to uninstall, seen many of these issues on forums .... :/
     
  16. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,365
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I haven't had any problems so far, but I did run the Avast! uninstaller.
     
  17. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Germany
  18. jjc225

    jjc225 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    272
    Ambiguous when clicking on private or public on internet connection or network. Could someone provide a clear explanation on which side of the choices you are supposed to click?

    Another thing: I have Avast Internet Security, and just noticed both Avast and windows firewall are on. I guess Avast did not automatically turn off the native firewall. I went in and turned it off manually.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2016
  19. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,253
    Location:
    North Texas
    I know on previous versions of AIS, you could run both Firewalls with no slowdown. I still run it that way (W10 & AIS).
     
  20. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Germany
  21. robboman

    robboman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    holland
    Avast runs great, I pretty much did a custom install and de-selected everything apart from the file-shield lol

    I have read some things about harderned mode and some other mode. What where the differences between the 2 and how do I enable them?

    thanks!

    Edit: Found it, it is called hardened mode on aggressive setting. Works great
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2016
  22. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,354
    Very nice configuration. Do you get a lot of ad popups or did they finally stop it? :mad:
     
  23. 59er

    59er Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Posts:
    46
    Location:
    Oregon
    I'm on my second year with Avast free. It seems, to me, that there are more ad popups just after registration (July is registration month here). They would be in spurts, first 2 or 3 a week, then none for a few weeks. Towards the end of 2015, there was maybe one a week. So far in 2016 I have not seen an ad (knock on wood). Cheers!
     
  24. CHEFKOCH

    CHEFKOCH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    395
    Location:
    Swiss
    avast Free Antivirus v2016 11.1.2253 Final is out

    +

    avast Free Antivirus v2016 11.2.2255 Beta is out


    Changelog (Beta version):

     
  25. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Germany
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.