avast! 2016

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Tyrizian, Nov 4, 2015.

  1. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,806
  2. KaptainBug

    KaptainBug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Posts:
    484
    Installed the update.. All went fine...
    Later on I uninstalled passwords by modifying the uninstaller, and now when I check for updates, Avast again says update available, which is little bit annoying..
     
  3. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Fine here, also uninstalled Passwords. Seems fine.
     
  4. Rolo42

    Rolo42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    USA
    My beta imploded at the last one so I uninstalled it. The release has been working fine for a few days now.

    My version is 11.1.2241 but it still says "BETA" in the title bar.
     
  5. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,806
    The new version is working great on my end, no complaints.
     
  6. Rolo42

    Rolo42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    USA
    I was hoping this would have been changed but it wasn't: there is no "Allow" or "Allow/Add to whitelist" option upon detection, so a false-positive will break whatever software it is interfering with and there isn't anything one can do about it. That's a show-stopper for me.
     
  7. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yes, I don't like it either. On the plus side, in my experience Avast support were very quick (within an hour or two) fixing a false-positive ticket I submitted.
     
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    This is intentional, because n00bs would just exclude everything they'd have detected. Been there, seen that. There is a quick access to Virus Chest now in tray icon menu where you can restore and exclude stuff quickly.
     
  9. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    There appears to be a problem with logging into the avast forum with palemoon.
    Anybody else experiencing this issue with palemoon or for that matter any other browser.
     
  10. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I'm not experiencing any problems with Maxthon 4.4.8.1000 (Win 7).
     
  11. ky331

    ky331 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    143
  12. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Thanks for the link.
    Palemoon developer sees it as an issue with scripting and font errors.Not a big issue for me as i dont use avast.but i do participate in the forum.
     
  13. Rolo42

    Rolo42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    USA
    This doesn't help when it breaks an installation; the temp path changes every time. I can understand protecting "layman" (to a point) but that's what options are for.
     
  14. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,248
    As I've suggested, an ignore/whitelist option could be added an option feature that needs to manually enabled in the settings to activate it. That way, the average user would not have the option to ignore files. It seems like quite a good solution in my opinion, but strangely some Avast users think it would makes Avast unsafe for the average user. Why they think that, is a mystery to me.

    It's a dealbreaker for me not having the ignore feature. But, on the otherhand it's not a big deal, as I've switched to another free antivirus which does have an ignore feature.
     
  15. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Experience, dear friend, experience. I was sitting next to a person who downloaded something 3 times and it got quarantined 3 times. The 4th time, he disabled avast! entirely and downloaded the file with zero thinking. Thats why...

    Sure you can still do that, but it's not that obvious. Same with detection. If you give option into the actual detection popup, people will just click that when they are so desperate to run it no matter what. If you make it less obvious by not giving them direct option, they won't just mindlessly bypass detection.

    Frankly, I try a lot of stuff and so far I haven't got many such cases. Maybe 2-3 times in the ENTIRE time I use avast!.
     
  16. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,248
    That's my point. I agree completely that it would be a bad idea to have an ignore option avilable by default. But, if it's only available as an option, then only a small minority of users would actually enable it to have the ignore option. The majority of users would leave it disabled, and for them, Avast would handle detections exactly as it does currently.
     
  17. davews

    davews Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Posts:
    13
    See also https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=174762.0
    I raised a ticket with Avast about this a week ago and as you will see in that thread (about page 5) they have reproduced the problem and passed it to their developers. Whether they manage to cure it remains to be see. In the meantime I am having to login using Opera 12.16 to post on there.
     
  18. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    243
    I saw avast 2016 described as having antispyware features.
    what's the scoop on that?
    I am presently using Panda free on windows 10 pro x64.
    While Panda supposedly has a higher detection rate, maybe avast has other features that more than make up for it. I find Panda to work very smoothly with windows 10, and it doesn't slow the computer down, at least for me. But maybe avast has something new and good going for them?

    Okay, I tried it out. Still is slow to open file explorer, and chrome. back to panda for me.
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2015
  19. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    There is "No action" if you use "Ask" as the default option. Though last time I checked, No Action meant block the threat but don't delete or quarantine it.
     
  20. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,248
    @RejZoR Yes, you can block the potential threat, but you can't allow it to run unless you disable Avast.
     
  21. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I kinda agree on that one. They could split "No action" into two options, Block and Ignore. Block would just block access to file and leave it where it is and Ignore would do what you want. Considering these options would only be available to users who use "Ask" action, I don't see it as problematic since it won't be enabled by default and most likely only used by advanced users who already know what they are doing. Plus it would be useful for PUP's when used individually so you do get alerted during execution of installers but you can still decide to allow the PUP instead of just entirely failing the installation because of the detection.
     
  22. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    Germany
  23. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    Germany
  24. Pirate_fin

    Pirate_fin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    Finland
    Installed avast 2016 today and it created NG snapshot, so i was wondering that how often does it create new NG snapshots?
     
  25. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Only once, after installation.
     
Loading...