avast! 2014 BETA released!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by RejZoR, Aug 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    443
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Normaly begin 2014 as all other Avast versions in the last years.
     
  2. 3x0gR13N

    3x0gR13N Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    799
    Next month.
     
  3. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,823
    Does anyone have a problem with their Wireless network status in Windows 8 Professional x64 and avast!?

    What I mean by this is...

    While running avast! (Free), my network status for my wireless connection displays as Limited (No Internet Access) for a very long period of time, but then eventually corrects itself after awhile. The strange thing is, when it is registered as Limited (No Internet Access), the internet still works just fine.

    If I disable all shields in avast!, then restart the computer, the wireless connection instantly displays itself as connected, But once I re-enable all the avast! shields, then restart again...the Limited status displays again.

    Has anyone else experienced this, while running avast!?
     
  4. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Sooner if we are lucky.
     
  5. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    I'll be waiting! :thumb:
     
  6. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    898
    Location:
    india
    Yes Sir! Oct 2014 is the release.I guess they had planned to release the 2014 version with all new technologies and stability. :D
     
  7. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,252
    Location:
    North Texas
    Running very nicely.....better jump in!:argh:
     
  8. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    898
    Location:
    india
    I guess Avast dev's finally have caught the right path of long term beta's instead of rushed and problematic builts.

    But anyway,with 185 million user base,there will always be someone having issues. :D
     
  9. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    I'm impressed so far with Avast 8. Yesterday it blocked a website and earlier today it had blocked a trojan horse. And I was just doing regular web surfing.
     
  10. Antimalware18

    Antimalware18 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Posts:
    417
    :thumb: :thumb: best beta ive ever tested. Ultra stable and protection is top notch. Now o cant wait to see deepscreen 100% functioning.
     
  11. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Yeah, in all the years, i've NEVER seen a BETA as stable as avast! 2014. I mean there were ALWAYS some idiotic show stopping bugs but here, yeah, there are bunch of tiny things wrong with it, but its core, the main functionality, works without any interuptions since the first minute i installed the BETA. This is a very rare sighting and i think this will help it be a much more problem free AV than it ever was before (not that it was super problematic till now but still).
     
  12. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    898
    Location:
    india
    Woohooo...more good news.

    In this beta2,I discovered something I have never seen before.

    Extracted a malware pack with avast on or whatever,scanned and removed all stuff found then I manually updated avast and guess what,during the update it began sending files from my pack to their labs :cool:

    I swear I didnt touch anything,its just sending them!! It sent almost 85 to 95% of them without my interaction! I had 23 in there...looks like it sent around 15 to 18 of them :cool:

    WTF...I just got a detection for one of the files it sent! :cool:

    EDIT: Sent off another one What the Heck!
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2013
  13. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    898
    Location:
    india
    OK I was testing something in a bit here...This is happening because of communityIQ sensors.If you turn off communityIQ it doesnt do it,I guess this is exactly what avast meant by improved community IQ sensors for the v9 beta notes.

    This is happening only in v9 and NOT in any previous versions :D
     
  14. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Yeah, this works in connection with all the local detection providers and also the remote part in avast! labs where stuff gets processed and detections shipped to users via Continuous Streaming Updates every few minutes. But as a whole, that's what CommunityIQ is. Up till now i'm not sure if it was this "chatty". It was more of a statistical thing up till now as far as i know, just aiding cloud detections to make better decisions (file reputation and stuff). But now it seems like it will be a more active approach. Looking forward to see the results.
     
  15. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    621
    Yeah that's the new feedback loop... Well, it's not exactly new (in the sense that we have been doing this for some time) but now it's getting close to realtime - the whole loop can take just a few minutes (and with DeepScreen, it is fully realtime although just for some samples).
     
  16. spywar

    spywar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Posts:
    583
    Location:
    Paris
    I remember when I did ask for something like that in your blog post about launching of Evo Gen and Malware Similarity Search systems.

    "But do you plan something in v8 like : Any suspicious file that an avast protected pc sees is sent directly to these servers for automated analysis if it’s classified as malware you update DB from cloud, if not manual scan is done. Btw, I’m sure you guys are preparing well new stuffs/improvements for v8."

    ;)
     
  17. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    898
    Location:
    india
    Thanks Vlk,Great Job!
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2013
  18. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Now this actually looks more like the proper cloud architecture where users actually protect eachother. If one user gets the sample which is not detected locally but is in your lab, everyone else get protected nearly instantly. Where before, this basically didn't happen or with a huge delay.
     
  19. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Very stable here with beta 2. Then again I never really had any issues when using any version of Avast. I also like the new interface and less shields. It's nice some of them are combined into one.

    Ice
     
  20. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,252
    Location:
    North Texas
    Same here!:thumb:
     
  21. Newby

    Newby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Posts:
    153
    What exe's to allow for outbound connection for 32 bit? Would be nice when this would be published also for x64 (so everyone can easily add this to Windows FW exception rules)
     
  22. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    898
    Location:
    india
  23. Antimalware18

    Antimalware18 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Posts:
    417
    Since they are fully operational could you test avast! Against ransomwares (undetected samples) and see how it does and post the results please?
     
  24. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Yep, got my first Hardened mode alert with Steam/Call of Duty 3. Added it to the exclusion list and all is good.

    Ice
     
  25. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    898
    Location:
    india
    I may think of risking my own machine for that as I dont have much samples,I will use malekal for that purpose :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.