AV-TEST of AVs for Android

Discussion in 'mobile device security' started by Minimalist, Jun 19, 2017.

  1. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    6,607
  2. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,317
    Thanks for the link. Kind of wish they tested Zemana with this.
     
  3. daman1

    daman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    1,021
    Location:
    USA, MICHIGAN
    I totally agree I would love to see that!!
     
  4. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    239
    Location:
    Italy
    I think an AV for Android is worth only if it adds website protection.
    This is the case of Sophos, McAfee, Avast and AVG (to mention AVs that offer it on the free version)
     
  5. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,154
    In the case of Sophos, everything is set to allow. You need to set them yourself.
     
  6. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,317
    Do you use Sophos boredog?
     
  7. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,154
    I do yes. The free version for Android.
     
  8. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,317
    It works ok? I am currently testing out Zemana.
     
  9. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,154
    Yes I tried Zemana and didn't like it. Tried most of them as free versions. Learned back in the 90's to stay away from Mc screwup my machine. AVG has become pretty good now days.
     
  10. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,317
    Why did you not like it?
     
  11. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,154
    I did not see the web protection .
     
  12. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,317
    Gotcha. I use DNS66 and use the Malware domains blocklist. It works for me.
     
  13. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    239
    Location:
    Italy
    I remember at default settings it blocked malware and phishing websites
     
  14. daman1

    daman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    1,021
    Location:
    USA, MICHIGAN
    At the moment they do not offer real time web protection, but I was told they do plan on adding it.

    I'm using BD with real time web protection and like it, seems light not a lot of bloat with excellent AV scores.
     
  15. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,154
    I also use Adguard with malware list. Sophos works with Chrome and Adguard works with Yandex
     
Loading...