AV Suites With HIPS And Vista

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Ed_H, Oct 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    The fact that KIS 2009 has limited HIPS capabilities with Vista has been discussed in several threads already. My question is are there any suites with non-crippled HIPS capabilities with Vista? Since the companies do not readily address this in their marketing material, I guess it is up to individuals who know how to test to figure it out.
     
  2. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Comodo works. I have tested/used it. Defense+ works like a charm.

    I install AV-Suite minus Firewall+HIPS. Then use Comodo Firewall Pro.
     
  3. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    You'd better also mention whether you are using 32bit or 64bit Vista...
     
  4. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I have tried Comodo with D+ in the past and it always seemed to slow things down. Maybe time to try it again or possibly the Online Armor beta is getting close enough to release to try.
     
  5. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I am using 32 bit.
     
  6. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Why do you feel the need for a HIPS in Vista? The fact that this feature is rare in AV Suites for Vista is a bit of a clue do you not think?
     
  7. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    I thought it was just because it was hard to implement. What are you reading from the fact that not many vendors have a full implementation of HIPS features in their Vista editions?
     
  8. entropism

    entropism Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    337
    NIS 2009 has Norton Antibot in it, works on 32 and 64 bit Vista. Why so set on a suite though? Plenty of standalone free HIPS out there that will work on a 32 bit Vista install.
     
  9. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I have the same understanding as huangker. I thought it was an implementation issue not a lack of necessity.
     
  10. Minimax2000

    Minimax2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Posts:
    204
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Outpost Security Suite 2009 on Vista x64 here. It runs stable.
     
  11. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I am looking for a suite that has quiet HIPS (like KIS 2009) because my wife and sister tend to click OK to all pop ups. So, it is best if the HIPS program makes the decision for them and I think this is most likely found in a suite.

    For my laptop, I just tried Comodo with D+ again and it just slows everything down too much. I am now giving the OA beta a try. So far, so good.
     
  12. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    I tried ZoneAlarm Security Suite. In version 8, they have complete OSFirewall (ZA's HIPS) for Vista.
    Its pretty good , quiet and user friendly. With Kaspersky AV engine, it quite decent at spotting infections too. I would recommend you to give it a try.
     
  13. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Thanks, I'll try it out.
     
  14. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Previous experiences with Outpost gave me lots of BSOD's. But that was a while ago, I'll take another look. Thanks
     
  15. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Could be difficult yes, but I don't really see the need either, and perhaps the vendors see that way as well... it maybe be "difficult to implement" because a 3rd party HIPS would conflict too much with existing Vista features.... I don't know any more than anyone else, just guessing.... my 2 cents as it were...
     
  16. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,517
    I am not sure what do you mean by saying "a 3rd party HIPS would conflict too much with existing Vista features". Comodo 3 works without any problems on my vista x64. If Comodo 3 can work well on vista 64, I don't think it's a necessity issue for some AV suite not offering HIPS.
    The existing HIPS function in vista is really not strong enough. I think there is a necessity for HIPS on vista.

     
  17. entropism

    entropism Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    337
    Norton Antibot is about as silent as you can get. What you really need is a pop-up and ad blocker, if that's your concern. Firefox, Adblock+, SuperAdBlocker
     
  18. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Are you suggesting that VISTA is secure enough without add on HIPS? That would be great if it were the case but I have my doubts.
     
  19. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Sorry, should have been more clear. I was refering to my wife clicking OK to all pop ups from HIPS programs. Hence the need for a pretty silent HIPS.
     
  20. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    Developing and offering a full featured 64bit product is for many companies connected with the calculation of earning power.
    It seems like many think/know 'it's still a waste of time and money'.
    Not every company is able to develop gainless products.

    Cheers
     
  21. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Then why don't more vendors implement them for Vista? I personally don't think any is needed. On my Vista x64 here, all I use is Avira Free + Defender. That's it. A decent browser like Opera, and you're good. What do you need the HIPS for?
     
  22. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Yep, that's my take on it. As mentioned in the previous post...... particulary on x64. But everyone has their individual needs....
     
  23. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
  24. entropism

    entropism Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    337
    Then use AntiBot. I haven't had a popup from it ever, after almost what, a year?
     
  25. 3xist

    3xist Guest

    Hello.

    Memory Usage shouldn't be an issue. Comodo Internet Security runs on 2 process quite lightly. :) And the pop ups have been reduced thanks to the whitelist & AV (You can use another AV if you wish off course).
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.