AV Killer technique

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by hsobrevilla02, Oct 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hsobrevilla02

hsobrevilla02 Registered Member

just for info:

http://www.websense.com/securitylabs/blog/blog.php?BlogID=148

some part in this statement mentioned this.."With this registry key set, you can't run this anti-virus software. AV Killer disables many AV software programs, such as McAfee, NOD32, Symantec Anti-Virus software and so on. AV killer can download other Trojans onto your windows system and let these viruses run as well....."

i am not a computer techie or an AV expert but maybe someone knowledgeable enough could shed some light into this information(if this could be considered as an information).
    If this post is not helpful,pls feel free to delete this post.

for info

thanks....

2. Philippe_FR22

Philippe_FR22 Registered Member

Hi,
    I think we have to pay attention to this kind of threat.
    At this moment I didn't see anything dealing with IFEO based protection on NOD32 antivirus. The only post about AV Killer, on the web, is on Kapersky lab forum. I hope (and we can be sure) that Eset will post some more explaination about that kind of treat, if NOD32 is able to block such execution redirection via registry, and if not, the roadmap for the update..

Best Regards

3. 031

031 Registered Member

Any average hips should stop this av-killer . I don't think it can disable kaspersky if the pro-active defense is on.............

4. Philippe_FR22

Philippe_FR22 Registered Member

Yes I confirm. On Kapersky lab, it is said that this kind of threat is detected and bloc. Kapersky deals with IFEO but what's about NOD32 ?

I've been a ESET Nod32 customer since 3 years and I would like to have any kind of answers from ESET experts.

Please would it be possible to move back this subject onto NOD32 antivirus software.
    Best Regards

5. Bubba

Bubba Updates Team