AV Comparatives=New Vendors

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by trjam, Feb 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    We are about a month away from IBK posted new test results and this time, some new faces. It wll be very interesting to see how newbies test out and how some oldies have dropped. Yes dropped, trust me. I am using one that I honestly feel can wipe the field clean but then again, I will have to wait.;)
     
  2. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    So you are staying with Panda till the next test :eek:

    Anyway I feel Panda is going to do good, I don't know about PC Tools is going to do though....... Threatfire is awesome but I have had bad a bad experience Spywaredoctor and PC Tools AV.

    Did they ever announce who the third new competitor will be?
     
  3. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I also think Eset is getting ready to make some eat crow for last year. This may be the most interesting test yet.
     
  4. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Panda, Trend Micro "look out for them also" and PC Tools.
     
  5. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    611
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I like Panda but when I do a full-scan it stops at 46% and tells me it's an error one. Don't like faults so it's gone.

    MSE has stopped installing on my PC with an error that is discussed a lot on their forum. Can't get it working so that's out.

    New Avast is nice - they give an awful lot for nothing. When I run a scan it tells me I have a folder in C drive that I can't see. Also, I'm not too sure I want to trade-off speed for safety with the webguard. Not fussed about scanning gmail.

    That leaves me with trjam's old faithful - Avira, which I run alongside Immunet. Be interesting to see whether they try to complete with Avast's rich feature-set.

    Ian
     
  6. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    In all fairness to Panda, why not post the error code here for pbust to see. Give him the chance to correct it.
     
  7. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Panda Internet Security 2010 ran very well for me but those dozen running processes annoyed me a bit plus its nearly 200MB install size. I guess all these programs are headed that way. Avast 5 is right now at 115MB's
     
  8. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    G Datas install size is huge but it runs very light. Folks, quit judging peoducts on the install, but how it acts afterwards. F Secure is big but light after install. Anyway, back on topic, all tests will be intersting this year. Personally, I am partial to IBKs.:thumb:
     
  9. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Install kidding aside I am very glad to see Panda back in the mix and expect a very good showing from them...:thumb: :cool:
     
  10. MalwareDie

    MalwareDie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    500
    I think Panda will only get Standard or fail. I think Trend Micro will do well. I'm not sure of what to expect from PC Tools.
     
  11. codylucas16

    codylucas16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    267
    I pretty much agree.

    Out of my tests, I have seen PC Tools too exceptional. I haven't done anything too large scale but I have never gotten anything passed it on an execution scan, and the on-demand scans got a 90% detection rate.
     
  12. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    I expect something good from these new vendors too :D

    Specially i want to see how Panda scores :p
     
  13. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    cant wait to see how Vipre performs... o wait, they're still not participating :D
     
  14. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    611
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    It's error 1. That's what it says. I noticed the PC was near freezing even with processlasso installed.

    It's fine with quick scans but keeps freezing on full scans.

    If there's a fix I'll put it back on. In fact, it's still on the kids' PCs so I will start a full scan whilst they are out and see what happens.

    Ian
     
  15. pbust

    pbust AV Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Posts:
    1,173
    Location:
    Spain
    Just a shot in the dark here, but if you are getting such errors from 3 different engines, you might want to check your disk for errors. Try running a "chkdsk /f" on the drive and then try again with any one of those engines.

    There is a hotfix and it gets installed automatically after a while and which fixes the Error Code 1. If you installed and scanned immediately after install, the hotfix might not have gotten downloaded & installed yet (it does it while the computer is idle after a while).
     
  16. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    How do we know if we got the hotfix?
     
  17. pbust

    pbust AV Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Posts:
    1,173
    Location:
    Spain
    Check your "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\" (XP) for a directory such as:
    HF_PCA_1.00.00.0001 or HF_PCA_1.00.00.0002. Those are the two hotfixes that have been released so far. If you have the one ending on "0002" you have the latest.
     
  18. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Hmm quite tough to say it is a good product and BTW which test is ito_O
     
  19. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    IMO, a product that scores ~95% every year in the same test is better than any product that scores 99% one year and 92% the other year ;)

    With that in mind, I will be looking for the most consistent product this year........:)
     
  20. Pleonasm

    Pleonasm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    1,201
    Hopefully, those “test results” will be based upon the innovative real-world Whole Product Dynamic Test methodology and not the more antiquated and academic Retrospective/Proactive Test approach. The latter isn’t quite “worthless,” but it certainly is far removed from assessing the actual protection afforded to users of anti-malware products.
     
  21. skokospa

    skokospa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    Srbija
    Ikarus antivirus installation 13.026kb.and only two processes have...:thumb:
    and what is important is very good.I use it more than 1 year and I am extremely pleased.occasionally used Malwarebytes and Hitman and so far I have not had any problem.:thumb:
     
  22. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    I am just wondering what makes you think that? I have a feeling Panda is going to do very well.
     
  23. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    611
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I'm afraid I had problems on both the kids' PCs.

    Daughter's Acer laptop finished the scan but quickly showed it was 99% complete when it had scanned 160k files. It then went on to successfully scan 320k files and finish a lot later.

    Son's Dell 8300 stopped at 84%. Waited about 20mins for it to re-start but nothing. When I clicked to close the programme it warned me I was stopping a scan even though it seemed frozen to me.

    I'm sure it's a good programme but the fact it has problems with a full-scan worries me. Shame it has an option for more than a quick-scan. If I hadn't tried a full-scan we would still using it.
    Ian
     
  24. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    I actually had the 99% percent done than it finished the scan the first time I scanned with PCAV, it corrected itself on the second scan. Also if your scan froze do you have any Comodo Setup files on your disk?
     
  25. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    611
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Yes, I have(had) an old CIS setup saved. My son doesn't.

    I have tried Panda a few times to have the full-scan fail.

    Time to take a rest from trying programmes - I don't have the patience of some of you (trjam).

    Will try Panda again at the next major release.

    Ian
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.