Automating the Restore CD

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Itdealers, Oct 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Itdealers

    Itdealers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Posts:
    1
    Hello,

    Could anyone tell me if it is possible to automate the restoration of an image from a Boot CD?

    Basically, we are making backup images of our hard drives and are copying these to the bootable CD-ROM that True Image makes.

    We would like to make it so that the user can, when required, simply insert the restore CD into their CD-ROM and the image will be restored back to the PC without the end user having to answer loads of questions.

    Is this possible?

    Your help would be gratefully received.

    Kind regards

    Paul Durkin
     
  2. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, Itdealers

    Welcome to Wilders and Acronis Forums.

    No sure what you mean by automatic restoration, and do you also mean BootDisk.
    Yes you can restore from CD-R\RW or DVD- & +R\DVD- & +RW.

    Yes and No.

    For somebody to simply insert a disk [Image] and for it to install, No. [unless you write some sort batch to do it] as you would know if you have used the program, as you have to instruct it what to do.

    It would probably take more then one CD, unless it was just the OS, Graphic and sound drivers. [depending on the size of Image]

    And it would depends on what you mean by USERS.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  3. crsgardner

    crsgardner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    So there's a way to script the install? How? I can't even figure out how to make a disk with a tib file bootable.
     
  4. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    I've been using this product for a long time (And I am a programmer). No one has come up with a way to get the boot disk to respond to a script, yet. Acronis may have some magic way to do this up their sleeve, but they have not shared it.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2004
  5. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, crsgardner

    I am the same as what beenthereb4 says, I do not know of away.

    I said to Itdealers
    How that's in the stars.

    That is possible, any there a posts here on the Forum how to do it.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello everybody,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/products/trueimage/).

    The current version of Acronis True Image doesn't support the feature under consideration.

    Thank you.

    --
    Best regards,
    Andrew Berezovsky

    Acronis, Inc.
    395 Oyster Point Blvd., Suite 213
    South San Francisco, CA 94080 USA
    http://www.acronis.com/

    Acronis support department
    e-mail: support@acronis.com

    Acronis... compute with confidence
     
  7. steven72555

    steven72555 Guest

    why not?
     
  8. steven72555

    steven72555 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    It would be GREAT thing !! :cool:
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello steven72555,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please note, that we have a special wish-list thread and you are welcome to post here everything you wish to have in our software. We will certainly consider all your wishes.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.