Automatic update to RC (5.0.84)

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus/Smart Security Beta' started by Marcos, Jun 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    An automatic program component update to the latest RC version 5.0.84 is going to be released within a few hours. Those who have not updated yet to the latest version manually and notice any problems during the program update, please report them here.
     
  2. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    This is a PCU for the previous beta release, isnt?
     
  3. mossy2103

    mossy2103 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    10
    Automatic update went OK but NOD32 gave error when it restarted:


    29/06/2011 15:07:40 Personal firewall An error occurred while starting proxy server. Analysis of application protocols (POP3, HTTP) will not function.


    I am not running ESS, just NOD32. The error did not reappear after I rebooted (XP SP3) and all now seems OK.
     
  4. Matthijs5nl

    Matthijs5nl Guest

    I see it is the antivirus and antispyware scanner module? It really improved my on-demand scanning time by like 10%.
     
  5. harsha_mic

    harsha_mic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    791
    Location:
    India
    any changelog?

    PS. I'm not testing the beta. just out of curiousity, i'm asking...


    thanks,
    harsha.
     
  6. poston8

    poston8 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Marietta, Ga
    I'm running Win 7 Pro. I have SS 5 Beta installed on three computers. Two computers work fine but this one my desktop stopped working with error msg "Error Communicating with Kernal". I have tried many times to install SS 5 RC without any success. I have tried to uninstall all files of SS 5 Beta without success. Some files remain.
    When I try to install SS 5 RC, after some time it says "you do not have permission to change files." Several files.

    Please help. I have paid for ESET SS for three computers and I don't want to hear that ESET does not provide assistance to Beta products. I paid and deserve customer support.

    Please help.
     
  7. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,046
    Location:
    USA
    Are you able to reinstall and then uninstall again? If you reinstall does it give the same permission errors? Since the install is an .msi it does not give the option to run as admin by default. You can paste the following in a text file and save with a ".reg" extension and then merge into your registry. Then when you right click a .msi file you will have a "Run as administrator" option. It might help with the permissions.




    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Msi.Package\shell\runas]
    "HasLUAShield"=""
    @="Run as Administrator"

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Msi.Package\shell\runas\command]
    @=hex(2):22,00,25,00,53,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,52,00,6f,00,6f,00,74,\
    00,25,00,5c,00,53,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,33,00,32,00,5c,00,6d,00,\
    73,00,69,00,65,00,78,00,65,00,63,00,2e,00,65,00,78,00,65,00,22,00,20,00,2f,\
    00,69,00,20,00,22,00,25,00,31,00,22,00,20,00,25,00,2a,00,00,00
     
  8. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Try uninstalling the beta in safe mode as per the instructions here prior to installing RC.
     
  9. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    marcos, when are the sb editions coming?

    And will there be an automatic update from Version 4 too?
     
  10. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    The release announcement for the build here in the forum contains the changelog. It is also available here in the beta test portal on the Changelog tab.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky

     
  11. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    If not, it will be good that beta user are notified of this new module.

    Because i browsed in an XP limited rights user profile, I didnt know and it probably didnt updated and installed. And i didnt see red or orange nod32 icon

    And I probably browsed one or some days with no AV grrr :mad: :thumbd: Is it possible that this module update gave me an kerner error message ?? Both, update and my issue, came probably the same day !!!! I lost recent virus db update and went back to june 29....

    see here (now move in this sub-forum)
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=1898517#post1898517
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2011
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.