Automatic Update at Startup Doesn't Work

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by thepacingman, Oct 17, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thepacingman

    thepacingman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I have automatic update set hourly. At startup when NOD32 update runs I get the following error:

    18/10/2005 7:32:36 AM Update Function: gethostbyname, parameters: , return value: 11001
    18/10/2005 7:32:36 AM Update Update attempt failed (Server connection failure.)

    But when automatic update is done 1 or any hour later it works fine:

    18/10/2005 8:32:30 AM Kernel The virus signature database has been successfully updated to version 1.1258 (20051017)

    When I first installed NOD32 the update worked fine but the last 2 weeks it has not. Manual update works 100%.

    Only when I boot up and update runs does the error occurr. I have reinstalled NOD32 but this did not fix the problem. Use Outpost firewall but don't think this is the cause. Get the error if outpost is on or off at startup. Makes no difference which server is selected, tried choose automatically and each server on it's own.

    In the Scheduler/Planner which ones should have a tick in the box?? Have cable so dial-up one not selected.

    Any suggestions would be great.
     
  2. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    My hunch is...your TCP stack is not fully up and running at the time NOD32 is trying to check for updates...or something is slowing down your TCP stack from loading.

    By chance are you running wireless?
     
  3. thepacingman

    thepacingman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Not running wireless. Have a cable modem attached to my desktop computer.
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Hopefully your modem is not connected via USB. In this case you'd need to set the connection type to dial-up.
     
  5. thepacingman

    thepacingman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Modem is connected via the ethernet lan port. How do I reset the TCP stacko_O Is this the same as resetting the winsock or are they 2 different thingso_O
     
  6. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Yah there's a good handful of those repair utilities out there via Google.
     
  7. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    This has started to happen to me too lately (update just hangs for an hour). No idea why though.
     
  8. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi thepacingman, welcome to Wilders.


    Details regarding Winsock are available HERE.

    Let us know how you go...

    Cheers :D
     
  9. thepacingman

    thepacingman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Problem solved but not that straight forward. Uninstalled NOD32 making sure all registry entries were deleted as well. Rebooted and ran 2 "netsh" commands from the following Microsoft bulletins, rebooted again and then reinstalled NOD32 after which everything is now 100%.

    How to reset Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) in Windows XP
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;299357

    netsh int ip reset [log_file_name]
    ----------------------------------
    How to determine and recover from Winsock2 corruption
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/811259

    netsh winsock reset
    -------------------

    Running Winsock XPFix made things worse. Manual update would not work either. Deleting registry entries and reinstalling TCP/IP did not fix the problem.

    What I have noticed is in the "Event Log", the "Module" column says "Kernel" for the updates that work and "Update" for the ones that did not. Any ideas on what this means?

    Thanks for the replies. You put me on the right track to fix the problem.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.