Automatic Mode: Let me get this straight

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by pcoombes, Sep 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pcoombes

pcoombes Registered Member

I am running a 5 licence business edition of SS, version 672, though it's mostly on various computers at my home. I have been using it for a few years now but frustration is starting to kick in and I am starting to fall out of love with it :'( Although I have several ekrn.exe crashes per day on my laptop the problem that I'm really struggling with is on a family PC.

On it I have SS currently in Automatic mode. However that doesn't let me get in using VNC or another remote access application I have to keep an eye on the kids. If I change to Interactive or Policy mode I can get in, so it's Automatic mode that blocking me. As it's the kids PC I have password protected SS so I can't run it in Interactive mode permanently (apart from the confusion all the popups cause the kids) and if I run it in Policy mode then various Messenger type things stop working, presumably as they connect to different hosts all the time and it needs a lot more rules.

So I'm stuck with Automatic mode, which breaks things. I have read on these very forums that if you configure rules in Policy or Interactive mode and then switch to Automatic mode they should be preserved but I just cannot get that to work. In Pol or Int mode, I can get in, in Auto mode I can't.

Can someone confirm or deny whether the above is true. And if that isn't the case how I can I just override Automatic mode in a nice and simple way to let a couple of applications listen, or even just let one host from the trusted network have unconditional access. It's not a unusual scenario I'm sure.

Am I just missing something? What is the simplest way of allowing everything out and initiated connections in plus a couple of exceptions?

2. Xtermy

Xtermy Registered Member

Hello.