Automatic Consolidation Home 2009

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by DrewOrenyo, Mar 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DrewOrenyo

    DrewOrenyo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    I tried using the Automatic Consolidation on one my home PC's. I defined it so that after 4 backups to consolidate the archive. Before this happened I verified that I had more than 2 times the size of the archive of free disk space on the network HP disk drive. The day that it ran - I found what looked like the consolidation maybe tried to work - because the 4 files still existed but with some huge name. I removed them - then turned off the Automatic Consolidation and changed around how I do my backups. I would like to make that work for me. Maybe I don't understand how that is supposed to work. I am on the Home 2009 Build 9709.

    Thanks,
    Drew
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Drew,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    Please try to enlarge the available free disk space.

    After creating a backup, the program checks the backup archive for quota violations, such as exceeding a preset
    maximum number of gigabytes set aside for backups and, if any limitation is exceeded, consolidates the oldest backups.

    It will combine the first full backup with the next incremental one into one full backup which will be dated the latter backup date. Then, if necessary, this backup will be combined with the next, until the occupied storage space (or number of backups) decreases to the preset limit.

    During the consolidation process the program creates a new archive, which will contain the data stored in the original ones, associates the new archive with the chain of archives and then it simply deletes the old ones.

    Therefore, there is a moment, when five backup files should be present, and I suppose there is no enough free space for them.

    If this doesn't help, please obtain the log file of the failed operation and attach to your post.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  3. DrewOrenyo

    DrewOrenyo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    Thanks for getting back to.

    My question is how do I get the log out of Home 2009?

    I will change the settings of instead of creating a new full archive after 6 incrementals to consoliate after 4.

    Thanks,
    Drew
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Drew,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    The question is unclear, please be more specific.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  5. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    i don't see the aim of this Automatic Consolidation... i mean if i set limit to three backups and the 4 will inject into the fullbackup (or something like that) what come out from it? it just make other (old) backups larger...

    can u plz try to pure some light on this matter ?

    10x
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.