automatic backup

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by pfefferkuchen, Jun 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pfefferkuchen

    pfefferkuchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    hi all,
    i am searching for a solution in true image 2009 to make automatic backups in that way
    that acronis should make 3 full backups by and by.
    the next (4th) backup should replace automatically the oldest one,
    so i will get always three current backups.
    the task is not the problem.
    is there any possibility to realize that.
    greets,
    pfefferkuchen
     
  2. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    This was pretty easy in ATI10 and ATI11. IN ATI12/2009, Acronis for some mad reason decided to make it difficult. IN fact youhave to sort of fool ATI12/2009 into doing what you want, but it can be done.

    IN the old days, you could use batch files to uniquely name the backups and delete the old ones. That's verbotten with ATI12 because it has an internal database of the backups you make so deleteions have to happen within ATI. With AI10 and ATI11 you could use Backup Locations to specify limits. That's gone in ATI12

    There is a relatively easy way to get automated management of Fulls despite the geniuses in charge at Acronis -- Essentially you have to trick ATI 12/2009 into behaving as if it's handling incrementals and autoconsolidating incrementsal but then never give it any incrementals to consolidate so all it ends up doing is deleting excess Fulls. The details are in a post from Vlad V, who first reported discovering and testing this workaround:

    #4
    Vlad V
    Infrequent Poster Join Date: Dec 2008
    Posts: 1

    Re: X full backups, then delete oldest

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    The latest build of ATIH 2009 (9646) allows you to get what you want, though the solution is not obvious. Here's how:
    1) At the "Backup method" step choose either "Incremental" or "Differential" method, select the "Create a new full backup after" checkbox and set "0" (zero) in the number of backups field. This will result in creating only full backups, but, in addition, will enable the "Automatic consolidation" step (disabled for the "Full" backup method), which will be needed for ensuring automatic deletion of the oldest backup.
    2) At the "Automatic consolidation" step select the "Number of backups exceeds" checkbox and set a limit of 4 backups.
    The program will create 4 full backups, then on the 5th run it will create a fifth backup thus exceeding the limit set on the number of backups. ATIH can't consolidate full backups, so it will simply delete the oldest one. This procedure will be repeated during the next task run, etc.
    P.S. You must have space for at least 5 fulls. If there is not enough room for the 5th backup, the task run will be aborted, and the program will neither create a new backup, nor delete the oldest one.
     
  3. pfefferkuchen

    pfefferkuchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    thank you very much,
    i will try it :)
    it sounds very helpfull!
    pfefferkuchen
     
  4. pfefferkuchen

    pfefferkuchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Posts:
    5
  5. pfefferkuchen

    pfefferkuchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Posts:
    5
  6. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    your screenshot links down't show any screenshots when I try them.
     
  7. dclkdm

    dclkdm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Posts:
    36
    ? I can see the screenshots clearly...
     
  8. jehosophat

    jehosophat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    UK
    I have tried this method but although I get daily full backups, it does not keep to just keeping 10 backup files which I set as a parameter.

    Instead I got over 30 days of full backups.

    So I just manually remove the backups that I dont need.
     
  9. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    A simple batch file can do that. Even if TI can't. Let me know if you are interested. Some folks won't use batch files.
     
  10. The Gold Tooth

    The Gold Tooth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Posts:
    27
    See my latest message on this subject, posted today! Note that it is for TI 11, but it may work with TI 9.

    TGT
     
  11. The Gold Tooth

    The Gold Tooth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Posts:
    27
  12. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    pfefferkuchen asked for my batch file. It's a simple one and works for me. Always create your TI backup with the same name, say acronis.tib and have your batch file run about an hour later, on a schedule. The batch file renames acronis.tib to backup_1.tib and renames the other backups. The most recent backup is always backup_1.tib.

    I don't use dated files. The date of creation is in the Date Modified (and Date Created) column of Windows Explorer.

     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2009
  13. jehosophat

    jehosophat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks BRIAN_K for the simple bat file.

    A bat file would be a better way of managing my growing full backups. I can now get things properly automated.
     
  14. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    You can test this batch file. Put it in a new folder and create a text file called acronis.txt in the same folder. Double click the batch file. Create another acronis.txt. Double click the batch file. You'll soon catch on.

     
  15. pfefferkuchen

    pfefferkuchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    thanks,it works fine!
     
  16. jehosophat

    jehosophat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    UK
    It is working here too. Thanks BRIANK

    Acronis Support eventually confirmed to me that this work around for Full Automated backups needs to use a batch file.

    Acronis also said that

    "The option (check the box "No of Backups Exceeds") you are referring to is
    only works in consolidation of incremental or differential backup and it is
    not meant for the full back ups."

    So Acronis ignores the "No of Backups Exceeds" entry when doing a full backup and that is why we need to use the batch file.

    How it will work in future builds or versions of ATI, I dread to think. Build 9709 is looking more and more like my version of choice as I can live with the existing current plethora of bugs.
     
  17. JonBattle

    JonBattle Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    What Id like to know is what the feature was dropped from the prior version? Why should I pay for a product (TI) and then have to jack around with BAT files to get the result that was already in the program??

    I didnt see in the "Whats New in this Release" notes - the comment that "automatic consolidation of full backups was removed"

    Im not happy. I may contact customer support and go back to the prior version.
     
  18. dclkdm

    dclkdm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Posts:
    36
    I'm not happy either. I can't go back, because 11 workes fine on my laptop, but doensn't with my new computer. 2009 does works fine, i.e. if you do everything manually.

    At the time I only tested manually to see if Acronis now worked with this computer, and it did. I didn't think to test everything that already worked in 11... :doubt:
     
  19. FoxFifth

    FoxFifth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    I am completely amazed that there is not a simple way to do multiple full automated backups in TI Home 2009 and have the software manage the number of backups that are kept. It was more complicated than it should have been in TI Home 11 but it was possible. I'm not sophisticated (competent?) enough for batch files but I have used a workaround that I haven't seen mentioned on the forum: I want to do a weekly backup and always have the current and 3 prior weeks stored; I created 4 folders on the external drive where the backups are stored (named "1st Sunday", "2nd Sunday", etc) and I scheduled 4 different "Monthly" backups (one for the 1st Sunday of the month, one for the 2nd Sunday of the month, etc) with each to the appropriate folder. This works for me and with the variety of scheduling options supported by TI 2009 there are quite a few possibilities that this type of approach will handle. It is more work to set up than it should be but it does what I need.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.