Automatic adjustment of process priority by ProcessGuard?

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by polle, Dec 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. polle

    polle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Posts:
    24
    Hi,

    I'm wondering, if it might be possible to implement a function in ProcessGuard to automatically set the priority of a process.
    I have a Chessprogram which uses all of my CPU unless I manually reduce its priority to low. It would be nice if PG could do this for me.

    Thanks :)
     
  2. gottadoit

    gottadoit Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    603
    Location:
    Australia
    Polle,
    That isn't really a security related function so you might be better off looking at another program to accomplish this

    One that I know of (and use myself) is Process Tamer by Mouser from Donation Coder it also has a forum to discuss new features and it is donation ware and can be quite useful for situations like that

    Another one is Process Lasso which has a free version and a paid for version
     
  3. pasito

    pasito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    There is also a command line option if i'm not mistaken. Brb as I search google :)

    edit: whops got carried away with some stuff, will check now ;)
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2005
  4. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Perhaps a later version will offer some useful capabilities like this as side effects.. especially if there is a commandline. Process Tamer looks useful though.

    Priority could also be part of other features added in a later version. There are uses, suspension termination and priority could become a subset of features. Big features need a lot of work, but why add one little feature when you can add more wide powerful features which enable tens of smaller ones ? :)
     
  5. pasito

    pasito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    Yer..

    I stumbled upon this reg tweak a while ago that adds a right click context menu when you right click on an executable file and you can launch the program with any cpu priority you specify.

    Example (put in a shortcut): cmd.exe "C:\program.exe" -realtime or something....

    Can't find it anymore.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.