Authentication USB tokens

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by TKHgva, Mar 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TKHgva

TKHgva Registered Member

Hello,

What are your opinions regarding authentication tokens manufactured by these two companies: Safenet (iKey) and Aladdin (eToken)?

Has someone heard or read of any issues surrounding these two products or companies?

I have no experience whatsoever with authentication tokens. However, I'm looking for a solution to manage multiple account passwords, also enabling the token holder to be the only one authorised to access the accounts.

I've started to read about T-FA, but I need to understand a really basic thing about it's purpose:
    when logging into an account using the security token, does it serve to add a layer of authentication by requiring one to log into the account with a password + the token?
    Or does it replace the need for filling in a password (by containing it and handling authentication on it's own) in order to ease authentication?
    So is it for adding extra layers of security or for easening access... or both?

Can the same token manage authentication for several accounts of different types, for example e-banking, e-mail, PC user login etc?

If anyone has experience with usb token solutions, could they also kindly recommend a particular company.

Thanks a lot.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Edited note:

Ok, apologies for the basic question on what's the actual function of the token; I've been reading and learning (which should always be done beforehand...). I provide here one of the articles which helped me understand, in case other viewers looking for same type of answers.

However, it would be very much appreciated if someone using tokens can adivise, suggest or recommend, for multiple use. Thanks!

Last edited: Mar 5, 2009
  2. markoman