Audio refuses to stream with Firefox

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by sportsfan7700, Feb 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sportsfan7700

    sportsfan7700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA "Where the West Begins"
    I cannot get the KLTY player to pop up stream with Firefox 3.6. I have Adobe flash player, the Windows media plug-in for Firefox, and the latest Windows media player.

    Can anybody understand in turn, help me to understand why this website will not stream audio directly from Firefox?

    http://klty.com/. the website pops up and has an audio stream of the commercial, but after that. No audio plays.

    Matt
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,751
    Location:
    Texas
    Works fine here. Do you have any add ons running in Firefox such as no script or flash blocker?
     
  3. sportsfan7700

    sportsfan7700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA "Where the West Begins"
    Nope, I disabled all my extensions and still not working. I wonder why . . .

    I don't have a flash blocker.
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,751
    Location:
    Texas
    Did the site work for you prior to today?
     
  5. sportsfan7700

    sportsfan7700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA "Where the West Begins"
    Today is the 1st time I tried it. I live in the station's coverage, but thought it would pop up in case I didn't want to turn on the radio.
     
  6. sportsfan7700

    sportsfan7700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA "Where the West Begins"
    IE 8 works fine. Very strange. (FF is set to add an exception for pop-up blockers too)
     
  7. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,751
    Location:
    Texas
    I notice it has a selection for Windows Media Player or the flash player. Did you try both options in Firefox?
     
  8. sportsfan7700

    sportsfan7700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA "Where the West Begins"
    I did not. I wonder what it means by an option for the flash player? to reinstall it?
     
  9. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,751
    Location:
    Texas
    If the commercial played when you first started, the music should play. The problem with that site is it seems to run you around a bit before it displays the currently playing music.
    I would just use IE if it works.
     
  10. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,947
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    sportsfan7700, my FF 3.6.13 also could not play it, even completely allowing NoScript. I found that AdBlock+, with the EasyList subscription, is blocking it.

    The Flash player opens this page: -http://klty.com/player_banner/banneradreal.htm-

    The Windows Media player opens this Page: -http://klty.com/player_banner/banneradwin.htm-

    Seems that one of the subscription filters is blocking it, because disabling EasyList allows both players to work.
     
  11. sportsfan7700

    sportsfan7700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA "Where the West Begins"
    how would I disable easylist? I do not have adblock plus installed as an extension
     
  12. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,947
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    EasyList is one of the subscription services that can be installed with AdBlock+, so if you don't have ABP, there is no EasyList to disable. ;)

    Do you have any other Ad Blocker type add-on installed?
     
  13. sportsfan7700

    sportsfan7700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA "Where the West Begins"
    Not that im aware of..where would I look in FF for it?
     
  14. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,947
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Look under Tools > Add-ons > Extensions, but if you already disbaled extensions (Post #3) and you did not see something strange there, I'm at a loss to explain why you can't play that site.
     
  15. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Try it under Firefox Safe Mode (everything checked), or a new profile created by running firefox.exe -p
     
  16. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,751
    Location:
    Texas
  17. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,947
    Location:
    U.S.A.
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.