ATIH2009 SZ Creation

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by smiley2, Jul 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. smiley2

    smiley2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    Hi,

    I'm using VISTA32 SP2, downloaded ATIH2009 yesterday.
    The partition layout is tested okay by every tool I could use here.
    I started expecting that the free space would be good/big enough for this purpose.

    But as shown in the screen shots, the creation of the SZ would lead to a very strange partition layout.
    Why move the system partition??
    Same try from the rescue CD, same result.

    I tried this on another machine, seems that the program never leaves the layout unchanged, and always tries to move things around.
    Is this really necessary?

    :'(
     

    Attached Files:

  2. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    You realize that the SZ isn't necessary except to have a place to make backups to if you only have one harddisk -- in which case you could never recover form a harddisk failure becasue you wouldn't have access to the SZ. You'd be better of having second harddisk and they've never been cheaper. If you really want an SZ there's oodles of stuff about it and it's probs if you search the forum.
     
  3. smiley2

    smiley2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    thanks for this fast response :D

    Really good advice,
    but I will never test such a kind of software on a "production system" :)
    And sorry, I overlooked the advice to use a empty disk only for this purpose.

    I wiped the HD using the Cleanser.
    Then I tried again to put a SZ on the empty disk.
    Suggestion was half of the total size, and the rear end, ok.....
    ready, steady, go, fail. No specific information why.

    Anyway, the recovery CD and USB stick built by this version detects my hardware, good start.
    Backup is possible, validation ok, restore is on the way.
    If restore really works, I will simply continue to use offline Backups.

    :cautious:

    EDIT:
    restore finished, system is ok.
    The SZ was present as partition, removed it and created again within the OS, worked this time.
    Again grabs one half of the free space, placed at the end.
    Maybe the free space cannot be within a extended partition?
    Seems to be the old tune: some configurations will work, some will not.
    BTW: Second reason for the SZ: necessary to use Try and Decide, afaik....
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2009
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    smiley2,

    Could you please provide us with the following information?

    1. Please create a screen shot of the Disk Management utility window again and attach to your post.

    2. Please download Acronis Report utility available here and run it, create a report and attach to your post.

    This would provide us with detailed information on the hard disk partition structure.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  5. smiley2

    smiley2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    sorry, this was my test HD, and already has another structure.
    This is another story, repartitioning while restoring :D

    If possible, I will reproduce the situation asap.

    :)
     
  6. smiley2

    smiley2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    Hi,

    here is the report.

    Restore Media
    1. erased HDD using drive cleanser, quick (00h)
    2. restored system partition, left space behind blank

    HDD
    3. Install ATIH 2009 using serial (no test version)
    4. created SZ, options as suggested, worked, space 10:1 for the OS ;-)
    5. start try and decide -> "not enough space". Funny.....
    6. start try and decide -> here we go o_O
    5. program installation, reboot within, everything as expected.
    6. reject changes, seems to be ok.
    7. start try and decide -> "failed", no explanation why
    8. start try and decide -> ok again

    conclusion:
    - SZ works on the wiped disk. :)
    - Seems that try and decide needs a second start,
    is there a choke anywhere :D
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.