ATIH freezes on recovery CD

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by nassau62, Jul 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nassau62

    nassau62 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    I burnt a recovery CD using "Create Bootable Rescue Media" link under Management Tools menu.

    When I start my laptop from the CD, the ATIH recovery screen comes up. I select to recover my laptop, but then the program freezes and my screen goes blank.

    I remove the CD and use the power switch to shut down my laptop and reboot my laptop to restart normally.

    What's wrong? How do I get a CD that won't freeze when I try to restore my C: drive from an image on a external harddrive?

    Thanks,

    Jack
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Jack,

    Are you using the latest build of TI (currently 8,101 for the English version)?

    Have you tried the quiet acpi=off noapic option detailed in Section II of the PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU POST thread?
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello nassau62,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    As noted by MudCrab, please make sure you use the latest build (8101) of Acronis True Image 11 Home. To get access to updates you should first register your software. Don't forget to recreate Acronis Bootable Rescue Media after updating.

    If the latest build doesn't solve the problem, please try booting with "acpi=off noapic" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    If the issue persists, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    Please create Acronis Report and Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will do our best to investigate the problem and provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  4. nassau62

    nassau62 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    MudCrab,

    I'm using AITH 11.0, Bld. 8,101.

    I hadn't read the referenced posting, but that was posted on Nov. 18, 2004. Surely, that issue has been solved almost 4 yr. later?!

    Ooops, not so!

    Changing the Linux kernel command line to quiet acpi=off noapic took care of the problem.

    Maybe someday Acronis will fix this problem & their scheduling an image on a sleeping PC problem?

    Thanks for your help.
     
  5. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    Uuups, yes! So. :D

    You have to notice that the mentioned thread is 'sticky' and frequently updated.
     
  6. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Version 11 gives you the option of including that command iinto the automataic startup of the CD. Create a new CD and check the options prior to the burn.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.