ATIH 2009: "Ignore bad sectors" option doesn't work

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Spooky, Jun 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Spooky

    Spooky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    Apparently I have bad sectors on the hard disk of a PC running ATIH 2009 (latest version), even though I already did a full sector scan with chkdsk. Anyway, I set the option "Ignore bad sectors" for the backup operation.

    However, after a few backups, it kept saying "Failed to read data from the disk" during every backup, requiring you to click "Ignore All" again. The option is still active, I also tried deselecting the option again, save the task, then edit the task again and selecting it again, but it still happens.


    Any known problems with this and/or a solution?
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2009
  2. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    When you ran chkdsk did you use the /r switch? To follow is a procedure that I use. I don't understand what you mean by full sector scan.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 7, 2009
  3. Spooky

    Spooky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    /r is the full sector scan, yes. But regardless of that, ATIH 2009 shouldn't prompt if you activated the option "Ignore bad sectors".
     
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    you shouldn't use that disk for any data that needs backing up
     
  5. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    Spooky,
    I agree about the prompting. It does however sound like you have a disk going bad.
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2009
  6. Spooky

    Spooky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    Yes, but again, regardless of that, ATIH 2009 shouldn't prompt again for user input, when using the option "Ignore bad sectors".

    Yeah, I just need the option until I get around to buy and install a new disk in that system. Until then there is no reason not to back up, unless no old backup is present in order to restore any system files that may get lost when a sector goes down.
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2009
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Spooky,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    I can suggest you to set the default backup options to silent mode.

    Launch the program -> Tools -> Options -> Unfold default backup options -> Error handling -> Mark "Do not show messages and dialogs while processing (silent mode) box -> OK.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  8. Spooky

    Spooky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    I did that too. I checked all the options there, including the silent mode. But it still waits for user input every time.
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Spooky,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    It appears the Silent Mode doesn't work.

    Could you please download Acronis Report utility available here and run it, create a report and attach to your post.

    This would provide us with detailed information on the hard disk partition structure.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  10. Spooky

    Spooky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    I have exchanged the harddisk last weekend. Should I still make a Report with the new harddisk? Partition structure is just one primary partition.
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2009
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Spooky,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    If the issue is reproduced on the new hard drive, please create Acronis report and attach to your post, we will try to fix the malfunction. If the program doesn't upset you now, you can leave everything as it is.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  12. Spooky

    Spooky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    Well, I guess it will only happen again, if a broken sector occurs on the harddisk. But I'll surely report, when it happened again.
     
  13. jehosophat

    jehosophat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    UK
    This is just another case of Acronis producing unhelpful error messages.

    I had hard disk errors and Acronis never mentioned them.

    Chkdsk /r fixed the problem.

    I suggest that you run chkdsk /r once a month until you have confidence in the new hard disk and also confidence in Acronis.
     
  14. Spooky

    Spooky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    No, the problem is that I do know that there are bad sectors on the hard disk and that Acronis True Image keeps asking the user if ATIH should continue the backup procedure despite the bad sectors even though the option not to ask the user and ignore bad sectors was activated.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.