ATI Removal conflict with Rollback?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Baldrick, Oct 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,299
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi

    I have ATI 11 installed (used for imaging) but now that I have installed Rollback Rx I am thinking of uninstalling ATI (especially since I believe that the two installed together may be the reason for an increased system boot time since Rollback was installed...snapman.sys may be the culprit).

    Question is therefore do I have to uninstall Rollback before I uninstall ATI given that both delve into and potential change the MBR. Or can I just uninstall ATI as normal (and then manually remove the dregs, ie, snapman.sys) o_O
     
  2. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    No you shouldn't have to uninstall rollback.It should simply be a case of doing a standard ATI uninstall. You could always just rollback to a snapshot before you installed ATI (assuming you installed rollback first of course :)).
     
  3. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,299
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Thanks, will give it a go (after taking a full image with Rollback...of. course;) )
     
  4. Aaron Here

    Aaron Here Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
    When I removed ATI with EF active, it seemed to uninstall ok but I have since noticed that there are several 'Acronis' registry entries that were orphaned and can't be removed (they produce an error on any removal attempt)! :doubt:
     
  5. Jo Ann

    Jo Ann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Posts:
    508
    Aaron,

    The problem you will usually run into with such difficulties is one of permissions. Once you have found the entry in regedit, try right-clicking on it and setting the permissions to 'full control'. That may do the trick. ;)

    JA
     
  6. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,299
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Thanks for the replies Both

    Decided to do some 'trawling' on this subject and cam up with the following:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1120006&postcount=4

    This may be of assistance Aaron re. seeing if and how it handles those Registry entries that you referred to.

    I plan to do a normal uninstall using the uninstaller provided and then double check the instructions provided to make sure that all is removed.

    :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.