ATI and tapes.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by hulbs9nw, May 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hulbs9nw

    hulbs9nw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    I have ATI Echo Server installed on a Windows 2003 server. I understand how it works in conjunction with Removable Storage Manager however, managing the tapes seems a little over complex. My customer has 6 tapes Monday-Saturday and all I want to do is have a full system backup eaqch day of the week. The previous backup should be overwritten and NOT appended to.

    Working with multiple backup products, this doesnt seem like too much too ask, but it appears I have to use batch files with RSM commands. Can anyone confirm how they do it or even better a simple way to do this.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello hulbs9nw,

    Thank you for using Acronis Server Backup software.

    Please be aware that when working in Windows, Acronis True Image Echo supports only RSM-managed tape devices. Please be aware also that the backups created on the tapes under Windows will not be available under Bootable Rescue Media (as Acronis True Image Echo works with the tapes through RSM, and when you run under Bootable Rescue Media another approach is used).

    By default Acronis True Image Echo will continue writing to the tape unless it is filled. But you can use this scenario to enable saving a full backup to a new tape even if the current tape is not full yet:
    1. Schedule task as described in the Chapter 7.1 of the respective User's Guide. Choose to create full backup weekly and choose it to be run every day of week except Sunday;
    2. When the first backup is completed please go to Control panel -> Administrative tools -> Computer management -> Removable storage -> Media pools -> Acronis;
    3. Deallocate the current tape and eject it;
    4. Feed in a new tape and move the tape to the free pool using RSM.
    When the second backup is finished repeat the procedure for the third tape and so on. So as a result you'll get full backup an each tape corresponding to the exact day of the week.

    Thank you
    --
    Nikita Sakharov
     
  3. supdeco1

    supdeco1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Posts:
    64
    Hello

    I read this post, could you confirm that the backup on tape, on windows can't be used to restore a server with the rescue cd?, with acronis true image echo?

    Thank you
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello supdeco1,

    Many thanks for the answer.

    Backups saved under Windows on the tape device which is locally attached to the PC are indeed not available for restoring under Acronis Bootable CD. In order to be able to restore backups (which are stored on the tape drive) under the Bootable CD you should back up to the tape which is attached to the Backup Server. This would let you access tapes.

    Thank you
    --
    Nikita Sakharov
     
  5. supdeco1

    supdeco1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Posts:
    64
    Hello

    i try to back up ATIES with windows 2003 server on tape.

    it's ok to back up, and i have checked the integrity of the image.


    I tried to use the recue cd, and the image, but it doesn't work, it noticed rhat the image file is corrupt.

    Is it normal? how can i use a backup to restore a server, if the cd rescue don't work?

    thank you
     
  6. jeremyotten

    jeremyotten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    684
    dit is really stupid because with 9.1 versions you could make a tape backup in windows and restore with the resque cd.

    And what is the use to have backup on tape and NOT be able to restore it when disaster strikes!!
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello supdeco1,

    Thank you for the answer.

    As the reasons of the backup corruption can differ much I'd recommend you to submit a request for technical support with the issue description and the link to this thread. We will do our best to find the reason of the issue and provide you with the solution as soon as possible.

    Thank you
    --
    Nikita Sakharov
     
  8. jcourtney

    jcourtney Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Is there an answer for people who want to restore with bootable media? I wasted a week playing around with tape drives to then find this information out.

    What is one to do when backing up to tape through Windows and you need to restore to another machine using bootable media?
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello jcourtney,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Corporate Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    It's currently recommended to back up to tape drives via Acronis Backup Server. As noted by Nikita earlier, such backups will be restorable with Acronis Bootable Rescue Media.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  10. supdeco1

    supdeco1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Posts:
    64
    Hello,

    i would like to know how to make full backp up from differents server on a only tape.

    i have read on the website that is not possible but i don't understand why, it's a big trouble if i need to have a cardridge reader for each server. I need to have a snapshot for all servers everyday on a tape, and i can't have incremental backup.

    I bought acronis, but with these particularities and trouble with the echo version (with database backup and not .tib) have to use it just sometimes with external hdd, and continue to use symantec to backup everyday data

    It is not the way i would want to take when i bought this software, i would liked to remplace backupexe to acronis


    thank you
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello supdeco1,

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Please see my answer in this thread you created.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.