ATI 2009 restore is horribly slow

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by rabident, Feb 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rabident

    rabident Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    I'm trying to manage images for a separate applications drive. I store the image for the application drive in a folder on my boot drive. I boot Vista, pick the image of the app I want to use, and tell ATI to restore the image to the app drive.

    It takes 3 - 4 minutes to make the backup, but 40 minutes to restore it. If anything, restores should be faster.

    Application drive is a 14GB Acard 9010 sata ram-disk. Boot disk & image store is a WD Velociraptor. I'm on Vista64 with x58 chipset. RAID, ACHI, and JMicron controllers are diabled. Both drives are on Intel ICH10 sata controllers.

    The problem seems to be in "restore partition". 99% of the time is spent there. The 2nd step, restoring the data is quick. I've done both sector level and 'just the data' images. It doesn't seem to matter.
     
  2. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Is this from within Windows or from the Rescue CD?

    The rescue environment uses Linux, and might not have the correct drivers for your external drive.

    Colin
     
  3. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    It's common for ATI to take much longer to restore than to backup, sometimes terribly so. Generally, it's a matter of the linux restore environment and the quality of the linux hardware drivers.

    If you make a BartPE disk, you can probably get around this prob and it would prob be a faster workaround than getting Acronis to send you a new iso to make a new boot disk with diff hardware drivers better matched to your machine.
     
  4. lesterf1020

    lesterf1020 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Posts:
    63
    Location:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    Are these incremental backups? Incremental backups are quick to make but since they need all the other backups to restore they take a bit longer to restore.
     
  5. rabident

    rabident Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    This is within Windows (Vista).

    TechReport tested my source drive's average read at ~110MB/s with 7.1ms access time. They tested the desitnation drive average write speed ~ 140MB/s with 0.1ms access time. Restoring a 14GB drive with 7GB of data on it should go pretty quick on that hardware.

    It appears I'm having a hardware / OS compatibility problem with the disk I'm writing to. The drive freezes during writes for 5 - 20 seconds. It happens with HD Tach Pro write test as well, so I don't think it's Acronis at this point... unless the drivers Acronis installed are somehow causing the issue.

    The drive works fine in XP, so I don't think it's necessarily the hardware either. I need to try Acronis on XP to see if I can isolate the problem.
     
  6. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Vista 32 or 64 bit?

    Single/Dual/Quad core machine Intel or AMD?

    Vista 64 bit is known to cause flakiness with a variety of software.

    Colin
     
  7. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    He said it's Vista 64, and that looks like the problem - or at least the Vista 64 interface with this SSD.

    I don't think True Image 2009 has anything to do with the problem, for once.
     
  8. rabident

    rabident Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Yep... and Intel x58 chipset means a Core i7 cpu, btw.

    I got a firmware update for my drive from the manufactuerer and now everything is fine.

    14GB sector level restore of the drive takes less than 2 min.
     
  9. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Thank you for posting the solution for all of us to read. We'll rpobably see more such problems as Core i7 machines become more and more common.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.