ATI 11 Error backing up to/from NAS

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jlanda, Jun 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jlanda

    jlanda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    My client has a netgear sc101 nas and has a couple computers back up to it. They wanted a solution to bring that data offsite, so I suggested using ATI 11 Home both to back up the files from the computers to the NAS then to back up critical files from that NAS to a portable drive (I could have them back up each computer to the portable drive, but I want this as easy as possible for them and a backup of a central backup IS the easiest method.)

    However, whether I'm trying to backup FROM the nas or TO the nas, I get the following error:

    http://www.pcgoddessllc.com/error.jpg
    error.jpg


    This happened on a Windows XP Home system and a Windows Vista Home system. The error in the picture is from the XP system. I'm only backing up files, not imaging anything at this time.

    Just some more info, the Netgear nas is basically accessed by software installed on each system and looks like a local drive instead of a network drive (no way to make it a network drive accessible by a unc). I have not tried any older version of ATI, and this is my first time using 11. Never had a problem with anything with the older versions. Any ideas?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 9, 2008
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello jlanda,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Backup software.

    Could you please clarify if you are able to see the NetGear storage in My Network Places -> Computers Near Me menu?

    Thank you
    --
    Nikita Sakharov
     
  3. jlanda

    jlanda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    No actually. It's listed under My Computer looking as a local drive even though it's a network drive. From what I understand, this is by design from Netgear. So you never actually see the NAS from the network, only through its drivers which installs it to look like a "local" drive.

    I think they call it a NAS but it doesn't actually behave as one. Is the problem then due to the special "driver" that makes the network drive seem local?
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello jlanda

    Thank you for the answer.

    Actually you are quite right saying netgear sc101 is not a NAS (Network Access Storage), netgear sc101 is a SAN (Storage Area Network) and that is why it is not displayed in the Computers Near Me. But there is a way to access the drive in the other way then mapped drive assigned to it. As it follows from the device Manual you should use NetGear Storage Central Manager utility to map and configure this drive. So at the last step of the configuring using mentioned utility you can see operation summary and "on physical disk" string and IP address after it. So please try to access the drive using this IP address. Here you can find manual I meant (what I mean operation summary is displayed in the article 15). Please post here about results.

    Thank you
    --
    Nikita Sakharov
     
  5. jlanda

    jlanda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Gave it a whirl but the Netgear wouldn't give the IP address through that method, not to mention, it only runs off of DHCP, so it's possible I'd have to go back and change the backup location every so often, which wouldn't work out well. So unfortunately, the ATI won't work with it for their needs, but it's not ATI's fault. If I can get the client on a real NAS, then we can probably get it all to work out.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.