ATI 10, will bad sector carry on to new harddisk after restore?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by simoon, Aug 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. simoon

    simoon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    My harddisk with the system developed some bad sector, thats why I back it up and restore to a new one. During image backup ATI 10 report a reading error, I click ok the process continue and success.

    Then I restored the image to a new harddisk, while booting into Windows, it prompt for a disk check, and the result is the harddisk has bad sector, the same number with the old one. I put the new harddisk to another machine, format it, do a disk check and without any bad sector.

    I restore the image again, the same thing happen, disk check before boot into windows, same bad sector reported. I boot into windows, use the harddisk tool to do a error check. Because it is the system disk, I can only schedule a disk check at next boot up, I restart windows, rescan a few time but unable to get rid of the bad sector. How is this possible?
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I think the solution to this is to either shrink or enlarge the partition slightly during the restore. That way bad sectors don't carry over. You are correct, the sectors are not "really" bad on the new hard drive.
     
  3. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    MudCrab is correct. Repeat the restore, but select only the partition that showed the bad sector. You will see a screen in which you can chage the size of the partition when restored. Decrease the size by the minimum amount and proceed with the restore. This will force TI to check the disk and discover that it has no bad sectors. Make a new image after the restore so that you don't have to do this again.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello simoon,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please also see this previous post for some more information.
    You can find the detailed instructions on how to use Acronis True Image 10.0 Home in the respective User's Guide.

    If you have any further questions concerning Acronis software, please feel free to submit a request for technical support or post any of them on this forum. We will certainly try to help you in resolving any issues.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  5. simoon

    simoon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Thank you Mudcrab and John, your advice are very helpful.

    And to Acronis Support, why do you post the same post repeatly without any useful content in it? You know, in other forum poster that behave like that will be removed.
     
  6. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Why on earth does a user have to do this? I jsut can't believe this!

    It's a perfectly rote procedure so why isn't the program doing it? Or, minimum, why isn't it at least an option you can click to check sectors to ensure none are falsely marked as bad sectors?

    This isn't the sort of hoop a user should have to jump through -- after all, it's not like adapting to diff brands and types of hardware -- this is something fundamental to disks.

    Why would anyone ever want a program to mark sectors as bad that are not bad?

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.